“So many to make one’s heart cry…..Two to make one’s heart smile”

It takes me a little over three hours to drive from Jersey to Gettysburg…..on a good day with little traffic.    Each drive seems to bring more roadside casualties to my eye….. so many deer lying lifeless by the side of the road, their carrion being picked at by scavengers in the wild.   Each time I pass one, my heart saddens and I say a little prayer of blessing for those that didn’t make it to the other side of the road.

Very early this morning, outside my farmhouse window, I received a thank you for all those blessings.   I saw a doe with a tiny baby, nursing underneath.   I never saw this mother/child connection before and felt so privileged to witness such tenderness.   I prayed for their safety; neighbors have deer houses around me and I know many of them hunt.   If this loving mama fell to a bullet, she would not be the only one to perish.

It was very foggy outside this morning.   I had been to a wonderful concert in town the night before and my camera battery was drained.   My phone pics were blurry.   I hurriedly grabbed my infrared camera and captured the pair, hence the quality of the photos and video.   I apologize for the clarity, but through my window, through the fog and distance, and with infrared, these were the best captures I could manage.

I think the Universe thanked me for all the blessings my heart wished upon those no longer able to enjoy such tender moments on earth……In return, I was the one who was blessed to see such a beautiful moment in the early morning mist.

May the two of them be safe      ❤

 

 

 

 

About sknobloch

I am an Author, Artist, and Reiki Master and Intuitive Counselor, offering energy and guidance sessions on people and beloved pet companions. I divide my time between a Northern NJ suburb of Manhattan and Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. I enjoy pursuing paranormal explorations in this uniquely haunted town. Read more about me at www.shirlknobloch.com and http://shirlknoblochwillowfineartprintsandphotography.zenfolio.com/ All writings and photos © Shirl Knobloch.......no unauthorized copying or use permitted without written permission from the author and photographer, Shirl Knobloch.
This entry was posted in "A Photographer's Blog", a poet's blog, A Writer's Blog, Life Musings from a Reiki Master and Intuitive Animal Communicator and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to “So many to make one’s heart cry…..Two to make one’s heart smile”

Leave a comment