“My Stance on Confederate Monuments”

I love history…..and unlikely as it may seem, battle history. As a little girl, I would sneak into my big brothers’ bookshelf and borrow the myriad of books about World Wars and soldiers’ memoirs and pilots’ remembrances.

I had to have a Junior High school report on the Civil War signed by my parent because the teacher said it was too detailed. She said it was A worthy but couldn’t give me one because I didn’t follow directions and my elaborations about troop movements and positions were above and beyond what was required.

I love history. I have always defended the beautiful, artistic renderings of Generals and explorers and historic figures.

But these past months, a sorrowful realization that too many look upon such statues with hate in their eyes and hearts has enveloped me. So many wave one “Confederate” flag, never learning there were others, displaying it for reasons and events I don’t really understand. ………. I love the stories of history………both sides to the story. So many don’t know both sides and faces of history and those who contributed to our country.

I always felt removing certain fixtures would further remove knowledge and respect for those who gave their lives under fire. But I have come to realize most who respect and educate themselves will gladly visit museums and Battlefield Parks to view this history come to life in bronze and stone and artifacts.

I don’t want to see these statues destroyed; I want to see them preserved in a place of history for generations who follow……….. I want our history books to not erase, but to expound on all sides of the stories………I want stories of black Civil War soldiers and their bravery, Japanese American troops who fought with valiancy, and Tuskegee airmen who flew the flag with honor told……….

I want American literature preserved. All stories must be told……..even those we might not like to revisit upon the page.

I own a farmhouse in Gettysburg, a historic one. I want this land to remain the hallowed ground it is……..with respect to all who lost their lives upon its fields.

Shirl Knobloch

Author Reenactments from My Heart: Spiritual and Supernatural Civil War Fiction and Poetry

About sknobloch

I am an Author, Artist, and Reiki Master and Intuitive Counselor, offering energy and guidance sessions on people and beloved pet companions. I divide my time between a Northern NJ suburb of Manhattan and Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. I enjoy pursuing paranormal explorations in this uniquely haunted town. Read more about me at www.shirlknobloch.com and http://shirlknoblochwillowfineartprintsandphotography.zenfolio.com/ All writings and photos © Shirl Knobloch.......no unauthorized copying or use permitted without written permission from the author and photographer, Shirl Knobloch.
This entry was posted in Life Musings from a Reiki Master and Intuitive Animal Communicator and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to “My Stance on Confederate Monuments”

Leave a comment