“Gettysburg Ghosts”

My farmhouse stands on Hallowed ground…..The Confederate Cavalry used these grounds as headquarters during the Battle of Gettysburg.

Now, a century+ later, strange things still occur at my farm.   Things you don’t notice immediately, little changes, turns of statues, empty vases now filled with water, movements of objects, mischievous antics that must pass the scores of time lost souls endure.

I got a couple of “holiday hellos” this past weekend from the spirits who wander my home…..well, their home too.  🙂

I had guests over so there is verification that I was totally surprised to find these changes had taken place.

The first one occurred at my dining room table.   I have Angels holding small glass candle holders on the table.   I was at the house for hours until I realized one of the Angels had turned, facing a different direction from how I had arranged her a couple of weeks before.   I know this, because I took photos of her two weeks ago when I placed her on my table for the Christmas.   I saw she had “moved”…..thought it odd, but just placed her back.    Then,  when my guests and I were chatting at the table, I looked over in complete confusion and saw that her little glass bowl had somehow moved and been placed inside my silver bird on the table, with a pinecone inside it.

Now the pinecone is an important twist…….two weeks ago, I walked my property and collected a big basket of pine cones and placed them in the front parlor.   When we got there this Saturday, one of the pinecones was out of the basket and in the middle of the floor.   Mice, I thought.   We have those visitors too….it’s a farmhouse, with lots of holes for cold feet to patter inside to warm themselves.   But a little pine cone now sat in the candle holder…… the cherry on the cupcake, as they say.   The last laugh from the spirit world……:-)  I could believe a mouse carried a pine cone out of a basket, but to carefully lift a tiny glass bowl and then expertly place it inside another object is a bit of a stretch for mouse paws…..  ❤

Earlier that day, seated at my kitchen table, I happened to glance over to my hutch, where a gingerbread garland has hung for many, many years.

The gingerbread garland was still hanging,  just not the way it should be…….I will let the pictures speak for themselves……..

It is in these messages…..not to scare, but just to send a sort of Christmas card from the other side……Hi, I’m here, Merry Christmas…….that make my home on Hallowed grounds unique.

Angel no dish

Angel no dish 2Angel in bird dish

Back in place

gingerbread garlandgingerbread men runMerry Christmas and Happy New Year Blessings and may only friendly spirits cross your path.

Shirl

About sknobloch

I am an Author, Artist, and Reiki Master and Intuitive Counselor, offering energy and guidance sessions on people and beloved pet companions. I divide my time between a Northern NJ suburb of Manhattan and Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. I enjoy pursuing paranormal explorations in this uniquely haunted town. Read more about me at www.shirlknobloch.com and http://shirlknoblochwillowfineartprintsandphotography.zenfolio.com/ All writings and photos © Shirl Knobloch.......no unauthorized copying or use permitted without written permission from the author and photographer, Shirl Knobloch.
This entry was posted in "A Photographer's Blog", A Writer's Blog, Life Musings from a Reiki Master and Intuitive Animal Communicator, Paranormal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to “Gettysburg Ghosts”

Leave a comment