“Lessons from a tiny Mouse”

My mouse died during the night.   I watched him suddenly grow old this past week.   I could literally see him become an old man before my eyes.    I guess time speeds up for a tiny mouse; mine lived two years, the normal life span of a pet mouse.   In the wild, I guess a mouse has so many dangers to face, two years is a miracle.

I learned in those two years how special it is to love a mouse.   And it is possible for a mouse to “love” me.   He waited each morning for his tiny crumb of cookie, right up to yesterday, he struggled and fell back three times trying to reach for that crumb.   I knew he was dying; but his will to live paralleled any man’s.

I think a mouse is a wonderful pet for a child.   In two years, that child learns love, care, and acceptance of life’s fragility.    I learned how wonderful it is to share not only one’s home, but one’s heart with such a tiny being, who leaves such an emptiness when he departs.

I think everyone reading this, at least everyone with a child, will recognize the book, “If you give a mouse a cookie.”

I would like to amend that book’s last pages……….If you give a mouse a cookie, he will steal your heart.♥

Angels are waiting, my little boy, with all your favorite cookie crumbs………

Blaze

About sknobloch

I am an Author, Artist, and Reiki Master and Intuitive Counselor, offering energy and guidance sessions on people and beloved pet companions. I divide my time between a Northern NJ suburb of Manhattan and Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. I enjoy pursuing paranormal explorations in this uniquely haunted town. Read more about me at www.shirlknobloch.com and http://shirlknoblochwillowfineartprintsandphotography.zenfolio.com/ All writings and photos © Shirl Knobloch.......no unauthorized copying or use permitted without written permission from the author and photographer, Shirl Knobloch.
This entry was posted in "A Photographer's Blog", "A Poet's Blog", A Writer's Blog, Life Musings from a Reiki Master and Intuitive Animal Communicator and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Lessons from a tiny Mouse”

  1. avrilsue says:

    Such a heartwarming tribute to your sweet little friend.

Leave a comment