“I’d Proudly Stand Up”

This Fourth of July is so filled with dissidence……..even watching fireworks in the sky seems like more angry shouting amidst our citizens.

I am not a proponent of fireworks, but I have gone to two very special firework displays in my lifetime.

One was over Liberty State Park in New Jersey, where lights and colors filled the sky above Lady Liberty (The Statue of Liberty’s head).   The next time I was there, different colors filled the sky……..I watched the fire and smoke of the burning Twin Towers obliterate the sky.

Several years ago, I attended another poignant ceremony.    The names of Medal of Honor recipients were to be displayed on remembrance bricks in the center of my town, Gettysburg……where so many heroic footsteps left their traces.

Those who donated to this cause were each given the name of their recipient and invited to a wonderful celebration, featuring the very talented musicians of our armed forces.    I was among those in attendance, on a beautiful evening on the Gettysburg Battlefield.  The ceremony ended with a glorious display of fireworks in the sky.

So I am sharing this moment with you today………….listen to Lee Greenwood’s beautiful song, “God Bless the USA”

 

About sknobloch

I am an Author, Artist, and Reiki Master and Intuitive Counselor, offering energy and guidance sessions on people and beloved pet companions. I divide my time between a Northern NJ suburb of Manhattan and Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. I enjoy pursuing paranormal explorations in this uniquely haunted town. Read more about me at www.shirlknobloch.com and http://shirlknoblochwillowfineartprintsandphotography.zenfolio.com/ All writings and photos © Shirl Knobloch.......no unauthorized copying or use permitted without written permission from the author and photographer, Shirl Knobloch.
This entry was posted in "A Photographer's Blog", "A Poet's Blog", a poet's blog, A Writer's Blog, Gettysburg, Life Musings from a Reiki Master and Intuitive Animal Communicator and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to “I’d Proudly Stand Up”

Leave a comment