“Coco Not?”

Here we go again……riding the seesaw of American Heart Association recommendations for what is healthy , what is not.

The latest miracle food was coconut oil.   I have jars of it on my counter, in my pantry.   I fry in it, bake with it………add coconut butter to coffee……..

Now the limelight shines a bit dimmer from the Heart Association on its benefits.  I grew up on the wonders of margarine……that didn’t turn out so well.   Too bad we can’t take back those huge tubs that always sat on our mothers’ and our own refrigerator shelves if we are of a certain age.   And as an added benefit, we could reuse those “healthy” plastic containers to store boiling hot food……..sigh  😦

Margarine, so healthy……we all ran out and bought it, slathered it on toast in the morning…….baked with it.   We could eat it without the worry and calories of butter…………

But then, that side of the seesaw dropped and we hit the ground of reality with a thud.

So what is best, coconut oil, butter, palm oil, avocado oil……..Avocados are another miracle.   Avocados aren’t big in an Italian American household; I never tasted one growing up.  I don’t think our local neighborhood market even stocked them.

Quite frankly, I need something with avocados to “kill” the taste.   I know most say they don’t have much taste, only great creaminess………but I taste avocados and never quite warmed up to that flavor.   But I buy them and bake with them and spread them on toast, although I spread a layer of something delicious on the toast first…….  But one day, the seesaw will fall flat on an avocado and smash its creaminess in the dirt……….

For today it will be expensive avocado toast in upscale Manhattan Restaurants alongside the delicious creaminess of coconut butter swirled coffee………..

And the next day……….who knows?……….But I know one thing……we will all be taken for that new ride on the seesaw, for however long it lasts………..

Read the news article here

http://www.fox13memphis.com/news/trending-now/coconut-oil-isnt-actually-good-for-you-the-american-heart-association-says/534611562

About sknobloch

I am an Author, Artist, and Reiki Master and Intuitive Counselor, offering energy and guidance sessions on people and beloved pet companions. I divide my time between a Northern NJ suburb of Manhattan and Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. I enjoy pursuing paranormal explorations in this uniquely haunted town. Read more about me at www.briarrosereiki.com and http://shirlknoblochwillowfineartprintsandphotography.zenfolio.com/ All writings and photos © Shirl Knobloch.......no unauthorized copying or use permitted without written permission from the author and photographer, Shirl Knobloch.
This entry was posted in "A Poet's Blog", A Writer's Blog, Life Musings from a Reiki Master and Intuitive Animal Communicator and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

