“Shirl and Squirrel” (The adventures of a Fairy Tale Author and her squirrel)

I have a squirrel who waits by my front door each day……..He waits until I feed him his snack.

He has eclectic tastes…….one day, it might be pears, the next apples, dried apricots and plums……
And yes desserts……..he prefers carbs…….leftover pizza crust, ciabatta rolls are a big hit, I have seen him finish off a whole one…….

Well, he is a Jersey squirrel with an Italian Jersey girl mom…….so of course, he prefers Italian………we haven’t tried cannolis yet; I am sure he would find their shells irresistible.

My squirrel gets Amazon deliveries……no joke.   My friend in Ohio shipped him a jumbo bag of peanuts, his obsession.

He calls in for take out delivery.   Twice now, my children have seen him sitting at my front door and phoned in his delivery request from their cars.    And it works, soon the fairy godmother of peanuts delivers his order………. 🙂

He sits inside my mail basket at the front door eating his lunch, it’s like his park picnic table.   I have learned to recognize him by his distinct markings;  each squirrel has his own little features.   Sometimes, his friends drop in for lunch, mostly uninvited, and this can lead to a flurry of fluffy tails at the front step.

This is his spot……like the same customers come to Patsy’s each week in NYC, their reservations lifelong.   I hope my squirrel has a long life, he has a standing reservation at my door…….always.

I have named him Squire Oliver………because he is always pleading with his cute squirrel face and beguiling little paws…….“Please, can I have some more……”

He makes his home in a comfy, dense thicket of ivy that wraps around a tree in my front yard.   He is safe from the wind, the rain, and I hope one day my little furry child finds a mate and makes me a squirrel grandma.

Stay tuned for more adventures…….

Shirl and Oliver

About sknobloch

I am an Author, Artist, and Reiki Master and Intuitive Counselor, offering energy and guidance sessions on people and beloved pet companions. I divide my time between a Northern NJ suburb of Manhattan and Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. I enjoy pursuing paranormal explorations in this uniquely haunted town. Read more about me at www.briarrosereiki.com and http://shirlknoblochwillowfineartprintsandphotography.zenfolio.com/ All writings and photos © Shirl Knobloch.......no unauthorized copying or use permitted without written permission from the author and photographer, Shirl Knobloch.
This entry was posted in "A Poet's Blog", "Animal Communicator", A Writer's Blog, Animal Communication, animal stories, Being a Jersey Girl, friendship, Life Musings from a Reiki Master and Intuitive Animal Communicator and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

