“Every Picture Does Indeed Tell a Story”

I took an art class yesterday, painting on silk.   There are lots of different methods of silk painting, each one quite unique and utilizing different paints and methods.

An elderly woman sat next to me, we exchanged niceities and began painting.  Her painting was intriguing and I told her so.   In the middle was a large hand, surrounded by sunshine in one corner, clouds in another, what looked like a storm and thunder clap in another……….

I remarked, “Interesting, the hand of God.”   Her face took on a strange expression, so I thought, she just doesn’t get my drift” as one would say if another didn’t fully understand your intention.   We worked on another painting, this time hers was a black shadow figure with a red heart in its center.

More understandable, since this was a Matisse class, but intriguing none the less, since it was her selection of choice.

Then came the time to go around the table and introduce ourselves.   I said I was a fairy tale author, then she spoke.

“My daughter in law gave me this art class as a Christmas present, we were supposed to go together.   Last month, she was killed in a hit and run.”………….There was silence around the table…………

Now, I understand her hand of God so fully………..and that black silhouette with a heart in its center………..

It is so true………every picture does indeed tell a story.

Here are my paintings from yesterday………..this technique is very abstract, you cannot paint in details, it is similar to stained glass.

Here are my stories from yesterday…………

About sknobloch

I am an Author, Artist, and Reiki Master and Intuitive Counselor, offering energy and guidance sessions on people and beloved pet companions. I divide my time between a Northern NJ suburb of Manhattan and Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. I enjoy pursuing paranormal explorations in this uniquely haunted town. Read more about me at www.briarrosereiki.com and http://shirlknoblochwillowfineartprintsandphotography.zenfolio.com/ All writings and photos © Shirl Knobloch.......no unauthorized copying or use permitted without written permission from the author and photographer, Shirl Knobloch.
This entry was posted in "A Photographer's Blog", "A Poet's Blog", a poet's blog, A Writer's Blog, Life Musings from a Reiki Master and Intuitive Animal Communicator and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

