“Changing Fairy Tales” The Remake of Dirty Dancing

I watched Dirty Dancing last night.   I knew it would bring a mixed bag of emotions from this writer, bittersweet ones, because I really felt no one could replace Patrick Swayze on that dance floor.

Clouding Johnny’s first steps was my mind envisioning Patrick’s face, Patrick’s graceful every movement…….But as the story unfolded, I began to see Colt, never entirely if I am to be completely honest……..but Patrick’s face began to fade in the silhouette of memories.

It was bittersweet as well to see that now, I related more to the aging wives at the Canasta table than to the gyrating dirty dancers in the staff lounge.   And the silhouette of passionate love between the two parents was portrayed poignantly as well,  enhanced by both singing their hearts out, so to speak.

But the ending……and the very beginning for that matter……….well, that wasn’t my cup of tea.  Meeting Johnny in the theatre after all those years and introducing him to her current husband in such a blase manner……and his blase reaction……..Is that how a husband would react if introduced to his wive’s first love, after reading her book and especially after viewing the onscreen romance scenes…….And to have your young daughter in the theatre audience as well, sitting with her dad and you as Johnny Castle gave you the time of your life………..

We are all writers;  we weave endings in our heads.   We all hoped Johnny and Baby would stay together forever, even though the chance of this was slim.   But we held on to our fairy tales.   Suppose they had forwarded about 10 years, Baby was walking on the streets of NYC with a 10 year old boy.   She sees Johnny Castle’s face on a Broadway marquee, buys a ticket, and watches him dance, then waits at the stage door.   He sees her and wistfully tells her what a handsome son she has.   She smiles and says, I’m not married, this is is my brother.   (It seems first love wasn’t the only souvenir of the Catskills…..a change of life baby came home as well)…………..Now, we can continue all our fairy tales……….

Me, I still like my original one……..that true love won out.   And maybe that is why I am a fairy tale author today.   🙂

Blessings,

Shirl

About sknobloch

I am an Author, Artist, and Reiki Master and Intuitive Counselor, offering energy and guidance sessions on people and beloved pet companions. I divide my time between a Northern NJ suburb of Manhattan and Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. I enjoy pursuing paranormal explorations in this uniquely haunted town. Read more about me at www.briarrosereiki.com and http://shirlknoblochwillowfineartprintsandphotography.zenfolio.com/ All writings and photos © Shirl Knobloch.......no unauthorized copying or use permitted without written permission from the author and photographer, Shirl Knobloch.
This entry was posted in Life Musings from a Reiki Master and Intuitive Animal Communicator and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

