“One Year of Grief”

 

It’s been one year since I lost my Casper to cancer.   It came quickly, I had lost three other friends in the previous two years and this was an unexpected blow to my heart.

Yes, I got another collie baby, after much soul searching.   When you are of a certain age, you realize all who are dependent on you.   The days of having packs of dogs are over; I cannot rest that burden on childrens’ shoulders as my husband and I are in our retirement years.   I have lost several dear human friends, I worried about those they left behind, those that looked to them each day for food, shelter, and love.

Puppies take a lot of energy.   Big puppies knock you over.   I know.   I have raised giant breed puppies and been injured more than once.  There comes a time in life when you don’t get up so quickly and the bruises take much longer to heal.   And yes, I have rescued more than the usual share of elderly and ill dogs.   My heart just cannot take the knowing that soon the time will come again to see them cross.

Last month, my 11 year old pom suddenly collapsed from a silent cancer, known for its insidious death.  That was the straw in the camel of my heart and it has been hard getting back up quickly or letting those bruises disappear.

People often say…….well, you can get another dog now.   I can never replace those lost.   Yes, I can bring another into my home, but I am also bringing that being into the lives of my children…..I have birds that I know may live decades longer…..I often feel it a shame for those wanting parrots.    When you are young enough, the expense is too massive and lives are too busy.   When you reach a point in life where you will not see eighty more years, bringing a parrot to bond with you has heartache consequences………

Having a pet is a huge responsibility.   Most people cannot afford the price of quality food, regular vet care, and sophisticated treatments when illness comes, and serious illness is a “usual” thing for our pets these days.

People often say…….well, you are a pet intuitive, so you can just talk to all who have crossed.   It does not work in this way, as I do not do readings for those in my family, I do not communicate with my family who are in spirit.   I communicate with them like everyone else, in my heart.   It is something those that do similar work know and respect…..

These days, my heart is filled with conversations to all I have lost…………….

I am an author, I published a book about dealing with grief after losing so many…….if you wish to journey with me and perhaps help heal your own heart,  you may find it here………

About sknobloch

I am an Author, Artist, and Reiki Master and Intuitive Counselor, offering energy and guidance sessions on people and beloved pet companions. I divide my time between a Northern NJ suburb of Manhattan and Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. I enjoy pursuing paranormal explorations in this uniquely haunted town. Read more about me at www.briarrosereiki.com and http://shirlknoblochwillowfineartprintsandphotography.zenfolio.com/ All writings and photos © Shirl Knobloch.......no unauthorized copying or use permitted without written permission from the author and photographer, Shirl Knobloch.
This entry was posted in "Animal Communicator", A Writer's Blog, Animal Communication, animal stories, Animals, Life Musings from a Reiki Master and Intuitive Animal Communicator and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

