“Eating off the Floor” (For those of us who remember Erma Bombeck

 

This day, 1927 , another one of my favorite writers, Erma Bombeck,  was born….

Not a classical literary icon …….but an icon to housewives all across America……

Her humor and wisdom gave a daily lift to overworked, overstressed, women who could share in Erma’s musings about life as a wife, mother, and daughter…..

My favorite quote resides on my refrigerator……it has found a place of honor there for many, many years……it reminds me of Erma Bombeck; though it originated from the comic mind of  Elayne Boosler; another who shares her gift of humor with the world.

It never ceases to make me laugh when I read it; and also brings a wistfulness to my heart.

My mother was a fastidious housekeeper; she didn’t live long enough to have much time to judge my housekeeping skills, but I remember her visits to my home with her white glove inspections……

I share my home with a menagerie…if I velcroed the vacuum to my hip; there would still be a furball or two to rescue from the corner….when I finish vacuuming, the fur strand brigade is already resuming positions…

Dust…..pet and bird dander I am sure are flying through the air……

When you have pets; there is a compromise in the pristine environment that will never be white glove…..

But, in my mind; passing a white glove test isn’t the happiest requirement in a home.

Back to the quote……

Elayne, thanks for this, and Erma, thanks for each day’s humor that never fades a smile from my face…..

And to my mom; you could eat off her floor……

“My mother used to say, “You can eat off my floor”  “You can eat off my floor too.  There’s thousands of things there.”      Elayne Boosler

 

So mom, you can eat off mine too…..there is always a stray dog cereal kernel or bird seed lying around…..sometimes trapped in a furball….. I am sure that would bring a smile of understanding to Erma’s face……..

Namaste and Homes filled with Happiness (and maybe furballs),

Shirl

About sknobloch

I am an Author, Artist, and Reiki Master and Intuitive Counselor, offering energy and guidance sessions on people and beloved pet companions. I divide my time between a Northern NJ suburb of Manhattan and Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. I enjoy pursuing paranormal explorations in this uniquely haunted town. Read more about me at www.briarrosereiki.com and http://shirlknoblochwillowfineartprintsandphotography.zenfolio.com/ All writings and photos © Shirl Knobloch.......no unauthorized copying or use permitted without written permission from the author and photographer, Shirl Knobloch.
This entry was posted in A Writer's Blog, Life Musings from a Reiki Master and Intuitive Animal Communicator, Memories of a Baby Boomer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

