The Treasures of Ordinary Days……Celebrating Valentine’s Day

Valentine’s Day………a day for the chocolatiers and florists and card companies.  But I guess all holidays are like that……
The more holidays I see, the more I see the day, not the holiday.

Ordinary days are the holidays…..the days you wake up and your little corner of the world is fine.   No friends have crossed, no friends are ill, no unexpected events that make an ordinary day not so ordinary anymore.

I love the ordinary days.   If I want a piece of chocolate, I will eat one.   If I want to buy a bouquet of roses at the grocery store, I will bring one home.

Love is shown through all the ordinary days and the unexpected, not so ordinary, ones too.  As I grow older, I have lost too many friends.   I have seen how quickly the ordinary becomes the unexpected.

I shared last Valentine’s Day with Casper…….I never realized that just weeks later, he would be gone from this world.Casper face

Eat that piece of chocolate, buy that rose bouquet…..because it is an ORDINARY day, not Valentine’s Day.   Life is too short to wait for one day in the middle of February to love the ones you love………..

Never feel sorrowful if you don’t have that spouse or date with roses at the door.   Love comes in life in many forms.

Hug your dog if he is your Valentine……some of us find our greatest love with furry, four legged companions.    To some of us, our children are our Valentines…….the greatest creation of love in our worlds.   Volunteer at a place where Valentine’s Day is just an ordinary day of sadness or illness for those who aren’t dreaming of flowers or candy, only of finding peace, a home,  a pat on their furry heard, or wellness on this day.

It’s been one year tomorrow since a very dear friend crossed.   Forever a part of my Valentine’s Day now…….I wish you blessings Renny and blessings to all those you left behind on such a day of love.

I have found my purpose in life is writing stories that bring love and compassion into the ordinary days of readers.   I have four published collections of Fairy Tales, and I am in the process of editing my fifth collection, due out soon.   Flowers fade, candy gives a moment’s pleasure, but one of my Fairy Tale books will be reached for time and time again by those of any age longing for a Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000039_00067]Fairy Tale in their lives.book-cover-youre-never-too-old-for-fairy-talesbook-cover-wolfhoundPageflex Persona [document: PRS0000039_00067]

Shirl

About sknobloch

I am an Author, Artist, and Reiki Master and Intuitive Counselor, offering energy and guidance sessions on people and beloved pet companions. I divide my time between a Northern NJ suburb of Manhattan and Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. I enjoy pursuing paranormal explorations in this uniquely haunted town. Read more about me at www.briarrosereiki.com and http://shirlknoblochwillowfineartprintsandphotography.zenfolio.com/ All writings and photos © Shirl Knobloch.......no unauthorized copying or use permitted without written permission from the author and photographer, Shirl Knobloch.
This entry was posted in A Writer's Blog, Life Musings from a Reiki Master and Intuitive Animal Communicator and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

