“We will never know” (For Veterans’ Day)

dadFrom early childhood, I have been fascinated by war.   As a young girl, I crept into my brothers’ bedroom and stole books about WWII…..While others were reading Nancy Drew, (I also had a full collection of those mysteries), I was immersed in stories of bomber pilots.  I grew up to own a Civil War historic farmhouse, where a Confederate General kept his headquarters.

Why has war followed me………….

I don’t know.   Well, yes I do.   I believe we all have pasts…….Past lives and existences.  When I was younger, a psychic told me my uncle was always beside me.   He died when he was 19, in the Ardennes Forest, at the Battle of the Bulge.

Is he?   I like to think so.   I have always remembered his memory, though I never knew him.  He was such a promising young boy….a mathematical genius, destined for West Point.   What might he have achieved in his life…….

My dad served on a Naval ship…..hours away from Japan when the bomb detonated.   His ship was given orders to turn back….what might have been if there were no Hiroshima or Nagasaki……..I might not be writing these words.

This Veterans’ Day…..let’s remember what they fought for, what they died for.   This is a great country…..it doesn’t need to get great, it just needs to heal and get better.

For all of them…..those who healed, those who didn’t………

Peace,

Shirl

About sknobloch

I am an Author, Artist, and Reiki Master and Intuitive Counselor, offering energy and guidance sessions on people and beloved pet companions. I divide my time between a Northern NJ suburb of Manhattan and Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. I enjoy pursuing paranormal explorations in this uniquely haunted town. Read more about me at www.briarrosereiki.com and http://shirlknoblochwillowfineartprintsandphotography.zenfolio.com/ All writings and photos © Shirl Knobloch.......no unauthorized copying or use permitted without written permission from the author and photographer, Shirl Knobloch.
This entry was posted in A Writer's Blog, Life Musings from a Reiki Master and Intuitive Animal Communicator and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “We will never know” (For Veterans’ Day)

  1. sknobloch says:

    Reblogged this on Walking Among the Ghosts of Gettysburg and commented:

    For Veterans” Day

Leave a Reply

