“Letting Bones Lie”

Today, two totally distinct news stories had me pondering this question…….letting bones lie.   The first was a news story of a woman who collects road kill and turns them into art  (I use that word loosely here.)   Her latest creation, for sale now for four figures, is a cat handbag.  Only the poor little one’s face was not crushed by the impact, so his head is stuffed and his furry body lies flat for the purse sides.  Is this right?   Is this art?

Me, I would have buried the little soul, putting him to rest.

The next story is of an ancient Greek shipwreck found at sea bottom, with a skeleton shipmate still on board.  They have taken parts of his skull and jaw bone and still some bones lay intact, waiting to be retrieved.

Should they disturb him?   No family longer waits for news of his fate; no family plot is being prepared for his entombment.

Yes, DNA knowledge may be hidden in his bones, but should these remains be kept in the back of a museum cupboard……

This human race seems to have grown apathetic in respect for life and respect for death.  Ancient cultures paid great reverence in burial rituals, they believed these remains held the essence of life and reincarnation.  In our “advancement” in civilization, we have lost some of that reverence.

I have a home in Gettysburg.   There are remains among the fields……remains of soldiers who either were quickly buried or whose body fragments could not be laid to rest, and simply decayed into the ground like autumn leaves.   There are remains of countless horses who died here, whose remains most often were burned and then turned into the soil.

If I found a bone, I have often asked myself what I would do …….would I turn it over to the Gettysburg National Park, or would I leave it……..I found bones in Ireland, lying on the ground in Sligo Abbey…..both human and animal.   I did not disturb the human ones, I built a hidden little carin among the abbey ruins and placed the animal bone behind it.

To me, remains should be placed at rest when possible…….so the spirit may journey on in peace.

 

Tough questions for an early morning pondering mind………I welcome your comments here as well.

Shirl    ( My stories from Sligo Abbey may be read in my book, “The Returning Ones, a Medium’s Memoirs)Book cover The Returning Ones

Here is the link to the sea wreck

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/article-3797258/Human-skeleton-discovered-Antikythera-shipwreck-2-000-years-bottom-sea.html?ito=social-facebook

About sknobloch

I am an Author, Artist, and Reiki Master and Intuitive Counselor, offering energy and guidance sessions on people and beloved pet companions. I divide my time between a Northern NJ suburb of Manhattan and Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. I enjoy pursuing paranormal explorations in this uniquely haunted town. Read more about me at www.briarrosereiki.com and http://shirlknoblochwillowfineartprintsandphotography.zenfolio.com/ All writings and photos © Shirl Knobloch.......no unauthorized copying or use permitted without written permission from the author and photographer, Shirl Knobloch.
This entry was posted in "A Poet's Blog", "Cemetery Photography", "Taphophile Treasures", A Writer's Blog, Animal Spirits, Being A Medium, Life Musings from a Reiki Master and Intuitive Animal Communicator, Observations about life from a Reiki Master and owner of a Civil War farmhouse, Paranormal, Reincarnation, Supernatural, Taphophiles and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Letting Bones Lie”

  1. Womanspirit says:

    I get my best thoughts of the day after getting up myself Shirl, lol…. it made me smile when you mentioned it… .
    I agree, to me this sick handbag made and these bones in this ship… I find it carnal, it doesn’t seem human to be as they are. It’s a total lack of respect, I’m sure something was said to them about it beforehand…. apparently they’re people who aren’t human in compassion or love.. I have to wonder who would buy those handbags?? Uggghh

Leave a Reply

