“Home to Roost” The Loss of Yet Another Friend

I lost another friend yesterday.   She left suddenly, unexpectedly, which makes the shock of her absence profound.

We were friends who had never met, but we talked all the time on Facebook.   She lived in Pennsylvania too, but it is a big state.   She lived on the other side, close to where Flight 93 crashed.   I remember she told me she was outside that morning, when a loud plane flew above her head, too close…….

She said one day she would drive out for one of my book signings; I said one day I would stop in for tea……..But the distance was not too close.

Cindy had two chickens, Miss Gumba and Miss Onyx;  she would write about their antics.   Each night was a one act play getting them into their shed to roost.  They would snuggle their mischievous heads upon her shoulder and ask for redemption and Cindy’s heart would acquiesce.

I always sent her chicken photos and cartoons.  One night, one of the chickens went missing.   She was up worrying and had all of us up worrying too.   The next morning, the wayward fowl reappeared and we all let out a sigh of relief.

I hope someone cares for them now…..they will miss her.

We shared a lot of things in common.   We both painted, she painted beautiful horses, her love since youth.  I hope her paintings are kept by those she loved.   We loved the same books, we both “singled out” Bodger from “The Incredible Journey” as our favorite.

The last thing I sent Cindy was a sign, “The Last One in is a Rotten Egg.”   I told her this would be perfect for the misbehaving duo’s coop.   She laughed.

Cindy, I hope in that place where energy remains you have finally gone home to that farm of your youth, with your horses and your beloved collie.

God doesn’t take rotten eggs home to roost, only the good ones.

I will miss you.

 

Shirl

 

About sknobloch

I am an Author, Artist, and Reiki Master and Intuitive Counselor, offering energy and guidance sessions on people and beloved pet companions. I divide my time between a Northern NJ suburb of Manhattan and Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. I enjoy pursuing paranormal explorations in this uniquely haunted town. Read more about me at www.briarrosereiki.com and http://shirlknoblochwillowfineartprintsandphotography.zenfolio.com/ All writings and photos © Shirl Knobloch.......no unauthorized copying or use permitted without written permission from the author and photographer, Shirl Knobloch.
This entry was posted in Life Musings from a Reiki Master and Intuitive Animal Communicator. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

