“We Need More Rakes”

I write to the sound of the leaf blower, that annoying morning blast that comes each day now.   Leaf blowers don’t require physical exertion, but even their use has been delegated to those others pay to remove each leaf off their lawns.   I think there should be a new holiday, the day the leaf blowers get packed away for the season.  Somehow, snow blowers are a bit muffled, not the banes of my ears that leaf blowers have become.  I think snow just muffles the earth, lessons the harshness of all things.

All of us old enough remember the sound of a rake scraping our driveway…….like the sound of the extinct rotary phone.   I bet if you played a soundtrack of a rake to young kids today, they would have no idea what it is.  Sad, isn’t it.  Raking was a time to enjoy nature, to enjoy the rustle of the leaves, to jump in a few piles, to stop and pry the stubborn stray leaves off the rake prongs every now and again.

Leaf blowers don’t commune with nature, they obliterate it.   They drown the birds, the rustles, the mind’s musings………

I would celebrate that holiday; the day the leaf blowers go into hibernation.   But today, they are here, they are next door, invading my space, my musings, my silence.

We need more rakes.  A rake quietly adds to the nature’s symphony,  leaf blowers bring a cacophony of screams……..

I much prefer to listen to the leaves……….

Shirlleaves

About sknobloch

I am an Author, Artist, and Reiki Master and Intuitive Counselor, offering energy and guidance sessions on people and beloved pet companions. I divide my time between a Northern NJ suburb of Manhattan and Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. I enjoy pursuing paranormal explorations in this uniquely haunted town. Read more about me at www.briarrosereiki.com and http://shirlknoblochwillowfineartprintsandphotography.zenfolio.com/ All writings and photos © Shirl Knobloch.......no unauthorized copying or use permitted without written permission from the author and photographer, Shirl Knobloch.
This entry was posted in A Writer's Blog, Autumn Leaves, Leaf Blowers, Nature and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

