“Why I Write Short Stories”

Today, September 6th, is “Read a Book Day.”   No one knows the origin of this day, just like Donut Day or Cupcake Day, someone probably thought September 6th was a good day to read a book.

It’s a good day, much better than homage to a dessert; we all need to read a book now an then, or every day.   But hurried lives and musical phones impede that challenge.

Ever since man first penned a word, reading has been one of the most underrated forms of meditation.  Reading is an escape…..I guess that is why warrior tribes didn’t find use for the written word.   They were too busy escaping from real weapons.

But the written word is a powerful weapon.   It can transform one into a different world, educate, enlighten, and entertain.

As a writer, the written word has a huge impact on my life.  I could not live without written words, books fill my thoughts and surroundings.   I write both non fiction and fiction.  My last two books, one published last year and one to be released later this month, are both collections of fictional short stories.

Short stories are a vanishing genre from the marketplace of books.  I don’t understand why.  Many people write me that they read one of my stories before bed each night.   Instead of being bombarded, yet again, with a depressing news story, my stories give them escape and peaceful slumber.

My mind runs on a quickened energy pace, I think all intuitive minds do.  Much as I dream of that great novel, I know short stories are my niche.  Just as watercolors are my niche, not oils.  I like to create the moment, catch the light’s shadow, then move on.

Most of our lives are that way…….always moving on.  But it is nice to stop for a short time and enter another time and another place.

I write my stories to help each reader become part of that place and time, just for a short while, before the real world interrupts again.

If you would like to visit my times and places……you may find them herehttp://www.amazon.com/Youre-Never-Too-Fairy-Tales/dp/0988517140Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000039_00067]/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1441544613&sr=8-1&keywords=you%27re+never+too+old+for+fairy+tales

And soon find them here as wellPageflex Persona [document: PRS0000039_00067]

My new book is a collection of short stories set in the time of the Civil War.

Peace,

Shirl

About sknobloch

I am an Author, Artist, and Reiki Master and Intuitive Counselor, offering energy and guidance sessions on people and beloved pet companions. I divide my time between a Northern NJ suburb of Manhattan and Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. I enjoy pursuing paranormal explorations in this uniquely haunted town. Read more about me at www.briarrosereiki.com and http://shirlknoblochwillowfineartprintsandphotography.zenfolio.com/ All writings and photos © Shirl Knobloch.......no unauthorized copying or use permitted without written permission from the author and photographer, Shirl Knobloch.
This entry was posted in "A Poet's Blog", A Writer's Blog, Civil War, Fiction, Literature, Writing Short Stories. and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

