Bears ~~~~ Oh My!

My daughter lives next to a wildlife preserve.   It is a beautiful part of NJ, with lovely homes and manicured lawns that border a land of foxes, deer, coyotes and bears.

Soon, the bear hunt will begin, a time I dread.

We have taken their space and now we find it amazing to see videos of them swimming in our backyard pools and playing on our backyard swing equipment……..

Yes, I know the stories of the rogue bear who attacks a dog or child…….but rogue humans attack as well……far more often………

Do I worry for my daughter and her child…….Yes.  I would be lying if I said I did not worry.   But my heart believes the one who attacks is the exception; most fear and evade our presence.   If my heart did not trust in that belief, I would not have devoted so much of my life to all animals…..saving them, caring for them, communicating with their energies.

But extra diligence, granted, is needed when one lives in such close proximity to wild beings…….  Wild beings who must be accepted and respected and given space in this world to remain…….Humans need space, true……..but their right to space is no more valid than the right of others who walked this space before…..

Unless humans accept and learn to co-exist with these beings, I fear the existence of many will be extinguished.Bears 2 copyrightBear 5 copyright

What right do humans have to extinguish animal lives just because they walk too close to a plot of ground with a signature on a deed that says it is theirs……

There lies the problem……Humans believe the land is theirs…….These beings lived on this land, raised their families, passed on knowledge about its secrets to generations long before a piece of plywood was cut down from one of its trees.

.Bears 4 copyright

These are some pictures taken from my daughter’s window.   A mama bear and three cubs.  One holds an apple from an apple tree in my daughter’s yard.   The bear hunt begins shortly; if this mama is killed, the cubs will die as well…….

And for what…….. walking across a piece of ground to find a drink of water,  or a bite of apple for lunch………………

Blessings to this little family, may they survive these coming days to walk among the apple trees again next year………

Shirl

About sknobloch

I am an Author, Artist, and Reiki Master and Intuitive Counselor, offering energy and guidance sessions on people and beloved pet companions. I divide my time between a Northern NJ suburb of Manhattan and Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. I enjoy pursuing paranormal explorations in this uniquely haunted town. Read more about me at www.briarrosereiki.com and http://shirlknoblochwillowfineartprintsandphotography.zenfolio.com/ All writings and photos © Shirl Knobloch.......no unauthorized copying or use permitted without written permission from the author and photographer, Shirl Knobloch.
This entry was posted in Encroaching on the land of animals, NJ Bear Hunt and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

