“My Thoughts” Book Review of Harper Lee’s Go Set a Watchman

“Go Set a Watchman” arrived late this afternoon.   It is 9:00 in the evening and, unhappily having to stop 3/4 of the way through to eat dinner and feed a bunch of hungry dogs, I have just finished it.

Do I believe she wrote it……Yes.   The writing was captivating; some sentences so moving that I had to stop myself and go back and read the words again to let them sink a little deeper in my brain.

In Mockingbird, Atticus is the beautiful piece of porcelain, void of cracks and chips and flaws.   In Watchman, he is the chiseled piece of granite, bones weary with age, marked by imperfections…..And it is in those crevices, that we find the deeper character, not the God, but the man.

Harper Lee’s truthful writing seeps from deep within her own crevices; you can feel the reality in her words, be back in that Maycomb town with these flawed, human lives.

Will it change Mockingbird for me…….how could it not….the story of the innocence of a young girl’s eyes has been clouded now.

But Watchman brings a candor and portrait into human nature through an adult’s eyes….and is a truer, poignant vision of what makes a man………

I was hesitant to read this book.   I am happy I did.

Profile pic

Blessings,

Shirl

About sknobloch

I am an Author, Artist, and Reiki Master and Intuitive Counselor, offering energy and guidance sessions on people and beloved pet companions. I divide my time between a Northern NJ suburb of Manhattan and Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. I enjoy pursuing paranormal explorations in this uniquely haunted town. Read more about me at www.briarrosereiki.com and http://shirlknoblochwillowfineartprintsandphotography.zenfolio.com/ All writings and photos © Shirl Knobloch.......no unauthorized copying or use permitted without written permission from the author and photographer, Shirl Knobloch.
This entry was posted in "Go Set a Watchman Review, A Writer's Blog, Harper Lee, To Kill a Mockingbird and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

