“Flags”

Today is flag day……..

Flag Day always reminds me of a September day, in a surreal lifetime ago……I don’t live that far from NYC; in fact, I was not very far from the Towers when they fell.

Everyone hung a flag out that week…..flags hung out car windows, flags hung from highway overpasses, people held flags and waved them as proud banners of courage and solidarity.

We came together, this nation, waving a symbol of what we stood for…..what we fought for, what too, too many died for………

Everyone wished the feeling would last; I think part of us knew it wouldn’t.   Yes, too, too many would still die; but most of us continued our lives and eventually discarded the torn, faded flags from our front porches.

Sometimes, I think back to that time.  I wish flags would still line all the front porches of my suburban NY neighborhood and we rekindled that feeling of oneness that tragedy unknowingly bestows on us.

I wish this coming election could bring a leader that can bring that oneness to our nation, not in tragedy, but in peace and hope.

The flag shouldn’t have to be something to die for…….it should be something to live for, in pride, integrity, and justice and liberty for all.

Too many brave soldiers died and still die for a symbol woven on cloth…….I wonder if mankind can ever weave this world together on unfraying threads of compassion and peace.

I took this photo on the anniversary night of 9/11 as I walked along a path that displayed the NY skyline across the night.remembrance 911

Blessings,

Shirl

About sknobloch

I am an Author, Artist, and Reiki Master and Intuitive Counselor, offering energy and guidance sessions on people and beloved pet companions. I divide my time between a Northern NJ suburb of Manhattan and Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. I enjoy pursuing paranormal explorations in this uniquely haunted town. Read more about me at www.briarrosereiki.com and http://shirlknoblochwillowfineartprintsandphotography.zenfolio.com/ All writings and photos © Shirl Knobloch.......no unauthorized copying or use permitted without written permission from the author and photographer, Shirl Knobloch.
This entry was posted in 9/11, A Writer's Blog, flag day, patriotism and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

