“Tanks by my door” (Baltimore)

I grew up in a little town that bordered Newark, NJ.   If you are old enough, then you know how infamous Newark became in the 60’s.

The riots, the burnings, the lootings, the people “corraled” like animals in the sports stadium.

To me, this wasn’t a news story.  This was real, this was fear.  The fear so strong you could reach out and touch it.

My dad was a police captain.  He went to war each night, and each night we worried he wouldn’t come home.

I watched tanks ride by my block; you never forget that.  You never forget the fear, you never forget the adults talking about how close the rioters had come since the last night.  You never forget the fear that they would be coming up your street to kill you, burn your house……what does a little child understand of this?……..

What are the little children of Baltimore understanding……they are understanding FEAR…..they aren’t understanding the frustrations, the whys, the reasons…….they are understanding FEAR.   And believe me, that fear will stay with them for the rest of their lives…….I know, I lived with it, and part of my soul still does as I watch the news.

My home is in Gettysburg……a town almost destroyed by a divided nation.  Now almost two centuries later, we are still destroying towns over a divided nation.

Little children of Gettysburg heard cannons blast, a little girl in NJ watched tanks roll by, little children in Baltimore see the fires blazing……..

Sad..   Sad for the older generation who cannot forget the fear, sad for the children who will always remember it, and sad for those engulfed in it like the flames of this stricken city.

Peace,

Shirl

About sknobloch

I am an Author, Artist, and Reiki Master and Intuitive Counselor, offering energy and guidance sessions on people and beloved pet companions. I divide my time between a Northern NJ suburb of Manhattan and Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. I enjoy pursuing paranormal explorations in this uniquely haunted town. Read more about me at www.briarrosereiki.com and http://shirlknoblochwillowfineartprintsandphotography.zenfolio.com/ All writings and photos © Shirl Knobloch.......no unauthorized copying or use permitted without written permission from the author and photographer, Shirl Knobloch.
This entry was posted in Life Musings from a Reiki Master and Intuitive Animal Communicator and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

