“April’s Book Review” Were You Always an Italian?

I recently had my DNA tested.  I grew up believing I was Italian, with possible Greek roots.  This, it turns out, is correct; but the test revealed a journey from various regions of the earth before my ancestors reached the southern soil of Sicily.

Were You Always an Italian is like a DNA test in words……

Maria Laurino takes us on a journey to reveal why we are who we are, not only because of our experiences, but because of our genes and our blood.

If you share a Southern Italian heritage, you should read this book.  You will understand as much about yourself as that Ancestry test revealed to me……

In a different way….an emotional way.

You will understand why the things that exacerbated you about your parents and grandparents had been rooted in their souls…….(e.g., why the new underwear sat in packages in the drawer while the worn ones were used)…….(why the beautiful new robe you had given as a Christmas present still had the store tag dangling when searching through your mother’s bureau after she passed)………

As I near to my finish line in life, I realize how much I have become the same.

This book will be a journey backwards, back to a time, if you are nearing that finish line in years, you will remember.   A time of grandmothers in black, candles lit to Saints, a time that only lives within our blood and genes now………But live it does, it will seep into our childrens’ lives and their childrens’ lives without their awareness.

Maria Laurino guides up in that journey, to acknowledge the past and understand the present.

http://www.amazon.com/Were-You-Always-Italian-Ancestors/dp/0393321959/ref=sr_1_1_twi_2_pap?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1428160144&sr=1-1&keywords=were+you+always+an+italian

Easter Blessings,

Shirl

About sknobloch

I am an Author, Artist, and Reiki Master and Intuitive Counselor, offering energy and guidance sessions on people and beloved pet companions. I divide my time between a Northern NJ suburb of Manhattan and Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. I enjoy pursuing paranormal explorations in this uniquely haunted town. Read more about me at www.briarrosereiki.com and http://shirlknoblochwillowfineartprintsandphotography.zenfolio.com/ All writings and photos © Shirl Knobloch.......no unauthorized copying or use permitted without written permission from the author and photographer, Shirl Knobloch.
This entry was posted in A Writer's Blog, Being Italian, Book Reviewer's Blog, NJ Italian Culture, Sicilians and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

