“Dreaming of a Tastykake”

Reading an old essay of mine, got me daydreaming of the comforts of youth.   Comforts wrapped in chocolate and icing; surprising, how things so bad for you can make you feel so good.   It’s been a rough week…..I could use a few tastykake cupcakes or krimpets right now.  My mom baked occasionally, when she did, she was quite good.  But most of our desserts came home in a grocery bag or bakery box.  No, not from Magnolia, or some gourmet bakery down the street…………

but from a little bakery called “Tastykake.”   The word conjures images of running my finger down the stuck melted chocolate icing on the cardboard wrapper….Oh, chocolate mixed with white cardboard, what a delicious combination……:-)

If you are old enough, you’ve done it….
admit it…
Think back a moment to the chocolately deliciousness.
And the icing…..
That was the best part.
A few years back, I bought a box of childhood cupcakes…..they weren’t the same.  I hoped no friend would run into me at the grocery store that day, with my box of guilty treats in the cart.
Maybe memories make things more delicious, but something was off.
Even the delicious butterscotch bites from girlhood just didn’t taste the same.
Snowballs…..those must have been a ball of sugar……
But who cared…..
They were scrumptious.
Perhaps ingredients have been tweaked…..I don’t know.
But, I will always have my memories……
That box sitting on the kitchen table.
The glass of Bosco my mom made for me………and licking that wrapper.
Now, for a healthy protein bar…….(sigh)

Sometimes, we all need to revisit the land of “Tastykake,”………even if only in our dreams.

Love and Light,

Shirl

About sknobloch

I am an Author, Artist, and Reiki Master and Intuitive Counselor, offering energy and guidance sessions on people and beloved pet companions. I divide my time between a Northern NJ suburb of Manhattan and Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. I enjoy pursuing paranormal explorations in this uniquely haunted town. Read more about me at www.briarrosereiki.com and http://shirlknoblochwillowfineartprintsandphotography.zenfolio.com/ All writings and photos © Shirl Knobloch.......no unauthorized copying or use permitted without written permission from the author and photographer, Shirl Knobloch.
This entry was posted in Life Musings from a Reiki Master and Intuitive Animal Communicator and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

