“It’s Amazing What a Gob of Spit Can Tell You” (tracing my Ancestry)

Basilica of Sacred Heart

Basilica of Sacred Heart

I admit it.  I am one of those glued to the sofa, watching Henry Skippy Gates trace the roots of others, watching Genealogy Road Show discover who have princes and who have frogs in their family.

So, several months ago, I took the DNA test.  And it has changed my life…..not in an overt, drastic way, but in a subtle, “so that is why” kind of way……….

I knew very little of my family ancestry……I always envied those who knew their great great great second cousin removed was on the Mayflower, sailing toward Plymouth.

Mine made it here a little later, by way of Ellis Island.  But before that voyage, I really didn’t know much more.

I am Italian…….it was hinted my mother’s family made it to Italy from Greece.

But, it was only hints.

Now, I know…….yes, the DNA confirms Italian and Greek…….

But it confirmed so much more.

My paternal ancestors were stonemasons…….I guess that is why I carry the artistic gene.  They came to this country and continued in their craft, helping build The Cathedral Basilica of the Sacred Heart, the fifth-largest cathedral in North America. (pictured)

There were rumors that my paternal ancestors were one of the few to travel to Russia, to build the stone walls and towers of The Kremlin, at the end of the fifteenth century.  My family name translates to “red hand”……..thought in reference to the red hands the stonemasons had after working with the red stone of these towers and walls.

Then again, only family stories and rumors…….nothing I knew how to verify.

But the DNA came back with Russian lineage…..so who knows, maybe my ancestors had a little free time and found Russian wives to bring back home to Italy.

That gob of spit had so much more…….from mountains to deserts, it traced a blood line I only imagined in my soul, places my ancestors lived and died.

There were voices only my soul had memories of……

They influenced the foods I like, the histories I have studied, the museum exhibits that have held me spellbound, and much more.

Now, when I look in the mirror, those voices speak out to me…….to tell me “that is why”…….

And I even have a bit of the Leprechaun in me…….no mystery there……but something I wasn’t expecting, that’s for sure.

Now, when I watch Skippy Gates, part of me will whisper…….”I told you so.”

Don’t hesitate to trace your roots; the hardest part is waiting for the results……your past just might influence your present….You may not realize it, but it already has……….

Visit my Author page @ Amazon to read more of my stories…………..http://www.amazon.com/Shirl-Knobloch/e/B00OEW2XJQ/ref=ntt_dp_epwbk_0

Blessings,

Shirl

About sknobloch

I am an Author, Artist, and Reiki Master and Intuitive Counselor, offering energy and guidance sessions on people and beloved pet companions. I divide my time between a Northern NJ suburb of Manhattan and Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. I enjoy pursuing paranormal explorations in this uniquely haunted town. Read more about me at www.briarrosereiki.com and http://shirlknoblochwillowfineartprintsandphotography.zenfolio.com/ All writings and photos © Shirl Knobloch.......no unauthorized copying or use permitted without written permission from the author and photographer, Shirl Knobloch.
This entry was posted in ancestry, finding roots, genealogy, Henry Gates, Skippy Gates and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

