“Henny Penny the Fart is Falling” (A dog story to make you laugh out loud)

Wolfhounds make their presence known in many ways……..one of them, flatulence.  A wolfie marks the air in a potent way.  No one prepares you for this experience; I am sure all who own wolfhounds will understand.  I wish we could use that methane to fuel our home on these frigid nights…….

Which leads me to what happened the other evening.  Aura Lea, my wolfie was stretched out resting.  Bailey, my pom, had positioned himself in the hazardous proximity of her rear……(actually his head was inches away from her bass……..)

Bailey is a drama queen.  He can run for minutes through the house screaming if a twig gets caught in his fur.  He is like one of those silent movie screen legends, the ones who take ten minutes to die…….staggering and slumping over and milking their demise for more screen time.

I think you get the drift……..or at least Bailey did of Aura’s gas.  He ran screaming through the house for a good ten minutes, literally gasping for air.  Someone else would have panicked, call veterinary 911.  Not us, we knew the drama queen would have to play this up to its full extreme.  After nine minutes or so had elapsed, he was back sleeping in his treacherous position.

This morning, Bram and Bud were in the kitchen.  Bram is a little pom, my Henny Penny.  Ever since he positioned himself at my feet while stocking the pantry and a deadly cereal box fell on him, Bram has been afraid of terrors from above.  If I drop something in the kitchen, he ducks and dashes.   You can drop a spoon and he panics…….

This morning, in the kitchen, Bram and Bud came in to beg for some breakfast morsels.

Bud let out a loud fart.  Bram ducked, and raced through the house.   Bud had a guilty look on his face; I was in hysterics.

That is way I love them……in my house of misfits, amidst the heartbreaking sadness, there are always moments of laughter.  (If you follow my blog, you know my Bobby is dying from lymphoma)………

My drama queen, my henny penny, my wolfie air “freshener”………all helping ease the sadness of my heart.

Blessings,

Shirl  (Pack Mom)   (You can read more of their antics in my book “Birdsong, Barks, and Banter”)

About sknobloch

I am an Author, Artist, and Reiki Master and Intuitive Counselor, offering energy and guidance sessions on people and beloved pet companions. I divide my time between a Northern NJ suburb of Manhattan and Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. I enjoy pursuing paranormal explorations in this uniquely haunted town. Read more about me at www.briarrosereiki.com and http://shirlknoblochwillowfineartprintsandphotography.zenfolio.com/ All writings and photos © Shirl Knobloch.......no unauthorized copying or use permitted without written permission from the author and photographer, Shirl Knobloch.
This entry was posted in dog stories, pomeranians, wolfhounds and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Henny Penny the Fart is Falling” (A dog story to make you laugh out loud)

  1. Lisa says:

    That’s hilarious! My Beagle is known for his “silent but deadly” farts. I think I’d rather hear them and be prepared!

Leave a Reply

