“Sleepy Hollow Episode 3, Coin of Darkness”

Last night’s episode set the wheels of my brain spinning, as usual.

The plot focused on the darkness that lurks within every being.  Sometimes, that darkness is kept on a tight leash, sometimes that darkness is unharnessed with dire consequences.

Last night’s facilitator of darkness was a coin; once placed in the hand, the seeds of darkness within sprouted and bloomed with intense passion.

Seeking to join the historical with the imaginative, Benedict Arnold’s hand fell victim to this coin of darkness and a beloved country was betrayed.

I worry about impressionable or uninformed minds viewing this series.

I ponder high school exams………

Q    Why did Benedict Arnold betray his country?

A     Because he found the coin of darkness.

Q     What battles did George Washington fight?

A      He was our country’s first demon hunter.

Think this is far fetched………remember that photo of Steven Spielberg on the web, sitting in front of the dinosaur?   A lot of people believed it……

My friend in Gettysburg manages a book store.   She frequently tells of people coming in to inquire about Washington Irving’s tale of the Apocalype.  I ponder all those readers who miss out on a lanky schoolteacher named Ichabod and a perilous ride across a bridge.

I wonder how many think Abe kept a wooden stake in that stove top hat of his, or if Mr. Darcy walked among the undead.

I am currently reading a 900+ page journal of Henry VIII, fiction, written as if he had penned it himself.  Every once in a while, I have to take a break, focus my head on what is history and what is imagined, and return to the story.

I hope all viewers of Sleepy Hollow do the same.  All beings have darkness and light, it is the challenge of history to record both accurately and the challenge of our minds to sift through both and come to our personal conclusions.

Peace,

ShirlIchabod

About sknobloch

I am an Author, Artist, and Reiki Master and Intuitive Counselor, offering energy and guidance sessions on people and beloved pet companions. I divide my time between a Northern NJ suburb of Manhattan and Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. I enjoy pursuing paranormal explorations in this uniquely haunted town. Read more about me at www.briarrosereiki.com and http://shirlknoblochwillowfineartprintsandphotography.zenfolio.com/ All writings and photos © Shirl Knobloch.......no unauthorized copying or use permitted without written permission from the author and photographer, Shirl Knobloch.
This entry was posted in "A Photographer's Blog", "A Poet's Blog", A blog of literature, A Writer's Blog, English Literature, Gettysburg, Hauntings, Life Musings from a Reiki Master and Intuitive Animal Communicator, Paranormal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Sleepy Hollow Episode 3, Coin of Darkness”

  1. Bernadette says:

    I wholeheartedly agree, Shirl. My daughter told me to forget all about history and just enjoy the show.

Leave a Reply

