“Two Birds and a Heart not made of Stone”

It’s been a tough week.  I lost two friends, two little birds.  One I knew only a month…..one I knew a decade.

If you read my book “Birdsong,” you read the story of my beloved rescue doves who bear stillborn or deformed babies.   I think that is the reason a breeder abandoned them.  His loss is my treasure; they are kind and gentle friends.

Poppy, their baby, came into the world on Memorial Day; (hence her name)  her legs shared the same deadly deformity as her siblings at the Bridge.  Her sibling in the nest this time was stillborn in the egg.

For one month, I tended her, held her, bathed her, loved her.   We created a makeshift apparatus to make her able to “stand” but I had seen the horrors of this deformity, and knew its progression had only one ending.

In a supreme act of trust, the parent doves let me hold her in my hands as they fed this little being for one month, until her strength drained so, she could no longer open her beak.

I had never experienced such a feeling…….to hold a baby bird as the mother and father regurgitated food to give her life.   Doves do not feed their young as other birds do.  That is why a baby dove is extremely hard to rescue.  The parents open their mouths and the baby bird places its long beak inside theirs and opens it to receive the food.   Poppy’s deformity meant she was unable to be still so that they might connect with her beak.   They trusted me enough to keep her still so they might feed her.

Poppy left last Saturday; yesterday afternoon another feathered friend lay waiting for me at the bottom of her cage…….softly breathing.   I sat with her the final hours until her energy left to be with Poppy’s.

Birds teach most about the fragility of life.  Birds keep us in the dark about their health until the very end.  Sometimes, sickness is evident.   Many have diseases now that show their signs before taking their little bodies and spirits.  But often times, a bird will seem well in the morning and gone by the afternoon.

I have raised a lot of birds.   I have seen a lot leave.  Each time, the hurt does not soften or harden my heart into stone…….stone that does not feel the sorrow, the loss.  Their deaths, whether lingering or sudden, wound my heart.   Wandering into a room where a cage once held a friend is the same as passing by the corner where an empty dog dish waits………..

Blessings to my two doves ………… Fly together toward Heaven.

If you would like to read the story of these beautiful beings, visit my page link about “Birdsong, Barks, and Banter.”   http://www.amazon.com/Birdsong-Barks-Banter-Adventures-Companions/dp/0988517108/ref=sr_1_1_bnp_1_pap?ie=UTF8&qid=1404905949&sr=8-1&keywords=birdsong+barks+and+banter

Wishing you the Peace of Doves,

Shirl

P1070483

About sknobloch

I am an Author, Artist, and Reiki Master and Intuitive Counselor, offering energy and guidance sessions on people and beloved pet companions. I divide my time between a Northern NJ suburb of Manhattan and Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. I enjoy pursuing paranormal explorations in this uniquely haunted town. Read more about me at www.briarrosereiki.com and http://shirlknoblochwillowfineartprintsandphotography.zenfolio.com/ All writings and photos © Shirl Knobloch.......no unauthorized copying or use permitted without written permission from the author and photographer, Shirl Knobloch.
This entry was posted in "A Photographer's Blog", "Animal Communicator", A Writer's Blog, Angels, Animal Communication, Animals, Being a Psychic Intuitive, Life Musings from a Reiki Master and Intuitive Animal Communicator, Observations about life from a Reiki Master and owner of a Civil War farmhouse and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

