“A Taphophile’s Walk”

I went to Holy Cross Cemetery in New Jersey today.  I visit each Memorial Day.  I have an Uncle who died at the Battle of the Bulge buried there.  I never knew him, but I have thought of him often over the years.

I wonder what he might have become, I wonder about the cousins I never had, I wonder if my grandma might have lived longer instead of succumbing to an early death that claimed her broken heart.

Cemeteries make me wonder.  There is a treasure trove of information just waiting to be found if one looks for it.

After visiting my uncle’s grave, I wandered through a field where no bodies resided.  But treasures still lay in the grass.

This one……..a Christmas ball ……..long blown astray.  Grandma’s Christmas ball.  I am a grandma now; which makes this especially poignant.  One wonders about Christmases in the future, one wonders about grandchildren who bring an ornament to the grave instead of visiting for a Christmas dinner.  I lost both my grandmas when I very little, too little to have known either one of them.

Image

 

Then a few more steps.Image……a penny in a red organza bag.   Unclaimed by any cemetery resident, lying alone in the grass.  One wonders if the family member is often visited by pennies from heaven and wanted to repay a debt.  Or perhaps the cemetery resident collected pennies, perhaps her name was Penny…….my writer’s mind begins to weave a tale each step.

 

Then, it was time to return to my car.  I passed an interesting stone……an interesting name.  I wonder if Lena thought Louis was her Knight in Shining Armor.  Even knights and their ladies must come to rest one day.

Image

There is a story in each stone and every step if you look for it and that is why I walk in cemeteries.

 

More cemetery tales may be found in my books………

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_ss_i_0_14?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=shirl%20knobloch&sprefix=shirl+knobloch%2Caps%2C286&rh=i%3Aaps%2Ck%3Ashirl%20knobloch

Peace,

Shirl

About sknobloch

I am an Author, Artist, and Reiki Master and Intuitive Counselor, offering energy and guidance sessions on people and beloved pet companions. I divide my time between a Northern NJ suburb of Manhattan and Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. I enjoy pursuing paranormal explorations in this uniquely haunted town. Read more about me at www.briarrosereiki.com and http://shirlknoblochwillowfineartprintsandphotography.zenfolio.com/ All writings and photos © Shirl Knobloch.......no unauthorized copying or use permitted without written permission from the author and photographer, Shirl Knobloch.
This entry was posted in Life Musings from a Reiki Master and Intuitive Animal Communicator and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

