“Grow Old Along With Me”

Today,  I acknowledge the life of Robert Browning,  born on this day in 1812.  Robert’s poetry was  eclipsed by his wife’s, Elizabeth Barrett Browning during her lifetime,  but I would be hard pressed to find someone who has never seen the above titled  quote……

Robert’s simple words…..“Grow old along with me, the best is yet to be” ……. have become the mantra of the Baby Boomer generation.

The golden years of silver hair were once delegated to rocking chairs; now active seniors travel through retirement and dance to rock and roll, not sit in those old fogey chairs.

The words are used in marriage tokens………grow old along with me……a wish not easily attainable in this throw away society.  Old things are thrown away, not cherished.

I value the old, always have since a young girl.  I like old words of writers and poets who came before me.  So today, I share the words of Robert Browning.

The secret to youth is not to throw away the joy of living, learning, and rocking each day to the fullest …………and to never stop believing the best is yet to be.   

 

“Grow old along with me! The best is yet to be, the last of life, for which the first was made. Our times are in his hand who saith, ‘A whole I planned, youth shows but half; Trust God: See all, nor be afraid!” 
― Robert Browning

 

 

Namaste,

Shirl

 

About sknobloch

I am an Author, Artist, and Reiki Master and Intuitive Counselor, offering energy and guidance sessions on people and beloved pet companions. I divide my time between a Northern NJ suburb of Manhattan and Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. I enjoy pursuing paranormal explorations in this uniquely haunted town. Read more about me at www.briarrosereiki.com and http://shirlknoblochwillowfineartprintsandphotography.zenfolio.com/ All writings and photos © Shirl Knobloch.......no unauthorized copying or use permitted without written permission from the author and photographer, Shirl Knobloch.
This entry was posted in "A Photographer's Blog", A blog of literature, A Writer's Blog, English Literature, Life Musings from a Reiki Master and Intuitive Animal Communicator, Lightworkers, Memories of a Baby Boomer, Poetry, poets and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

