“As Lovely as a Tree”

I sat outside after the rain yesterday.
My yard isn’t the same.  We lost three trees in the last couple of years.
One was weakened by Hurricane Sandy, cracked down the middle of her massive cedar trunk.
The others  were lost in the terrible winter ice storms…….one a giant Maple, and a little Maple brother standing beside, leaning far too much to the side.
My yard used to be a haven of shade; now it is an expanse of sun.
Each time I look outside, my eyes still see the Cedar, the Maples, and the birds and squirrels who darted among their branches.
Now the sun feels harsh to a heart that cried over three deaths…..
I love trees, I photograph trees, I talk to trees, I Reiki trees that need strength……..
I always remember the words of a wise man who said, we plant trees even though we know we will not see them grow to be giants.
I have planted a fig tree by one of the trunks.
And perhaps, I shall plant some flowers in my yard; a yard that was always too shady for most blooms.
Trouble is, a lot of furry beings call my yard home……
Beings that love to chew, love to pee, and love to step on fragile blossoms.
But every living thing is fragile, from the tiny seedling to the giant tree……….
Blessings……Smile at a tree today  
Shirl

“The true meaning of life is to plant trees, under whose shade you do not expect to sit.”
–  Nelson Henderson   

*************************Dawn

THINK that I shall never see
A poem lovely as a tree.
 
A tree whose hungry mouth is prest
Against the earth’s sweet flowing breast;
 
A tree that looks at God all day,
And lifts her leafy arms to pray;
 
A tree that may in Summer wear
A nest of robins in her hair;
 
Upon whose bosom snow has lain;
Who intimately lives with rain.
 
Poems are made by fools like me,
But only God can make a tree.
            ~~~Joyce Kilmer

 

“Trees” was originally published in Trees and Other Poems. Joyce Kilmer. New York: George H. Doran Company, 1914.
About sknobloch

I am an Author, Artist, and Reiki Master and Intuitive Counselor, offering energy and guidance sessions on people and beloved pet companions. I divide my time between a Northern NJ suburb of Manhattan and Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. I enjoy pursuing paranormal explorations in this uniquely haunted town. Read more about me at www.briarrosereiki.com and http://shirlknoblochwillowfineartprintsandphotography.zenfolio.com/ All writings and photos © Shirl Knobloch.......no unauthorized copying or use permitted without written permission from the author and photographer, Shirl Knobloch.
This entry was posted in "A Photographer's Blog", "Metaphysical Intentions", A Writer's Blog, Being a Psychic Intuitive, Life Musings from a Reiki Master and Intuitive Animal Communicator, Lightworkers, Literature, Observations about life from a Reiki Master and owner of a Civil War farmhouse, Poetry, poets and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

