“Doubting Thomas” (Organized Religion and Faith)

I had a special family occasion yesterday, I attended the Catholic Mass.   The Mass has changed; perhaps each parish makes variations in the Mass according to its own wishes.  We began by introducing ourselves in the pew…..calling out our first name to the person beside us.

Since I like my energy space, as I have often mentioned before, this was a little too friendly for me.   I like to sit quietly, keeping my own aura field shielded.

The sermon was perplexing to me.  The priest spoke of Thomas, how his doubts today could be answered in a world of answers…….a click of the internet button to bring the world’s knowledge to our eyes.

It seemed to me that church yesterday was full of doubting Thomases……each seeking answers that no web page could satisfy, no matter how many Google search words they typed in the browser.

Since the days man first sat around the glowing fire, they have been praying to Gods of Goodness  for abundance and health and seeking to appease Gods of Evil that brought plague and famine.  Today, the glow of internet screens has replaced the fire, but really not much else……We pray to the good, we fear the evil, and we continually search for answers.   And each definition of evil is subjective.

Had I lived centuries ago, one of those fires would be waiting for me to stand upon it, for the work I do.  That work is still not accepted by many organized religions, though it holds no evil…..but again, that word evil is subjective.

Carl Sagan said that he didn’t want to believe, he wanted to KNOW……… sounds much like Thomas, don’t you think?

Blessings,

Shirl

About sknobloch

I am an Author, Artist, and Reiki Master and Intuitive Counselor, offering energy and guidance sessions on people and beloved pet companions. I divide my time between a Northern NJ suburb of Manhattan and Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. I enjoy pursuing paranormal explorations in this uniquely haunted town. Read more about me at www.briarrosereiki.com and http://shirlknoblochwillowfineartprintsandphotography.zenfolio.com/ All writings and photos © Shirl Knobloch.......no unauthorized copying or use permitted without written permission from the author and photographer, Shirl Knobloch.
This entry was posted in A Writer's Blog, Being a Psychic Intuitive, Life Musings from a Reiki Master and Intuitive Animal Communicator, Lightworkers, Observations about life from a Reiki Master and owner of a Civil War farmhouse and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

