“Laura”

February 7th, 1867, is the birthdate of Laura Ingalls Wilder.  Little House has been on my mind his week, due to the passing of Richard Bull, who portrayed gentle Nels.  Who else but a gentle soul would have lived peacefully with Nellie and Mrs. Oleson.

Little House was a staple in my house when my kids were growing up.  I always remember Victor French walking down the road, singing ‘Old Dan Tucker.”  I would never have imagined that tune would play so often at Civil War gatherings I now attend;  and that I would be the owner of my own historic farmhouse.

Mine isn’t on the prairie, but it sits amidst the rolling hills of Gettysburg.  I know the name of the people who lived there during Laura’s time.  They must have been good people, living off the land and working hard among the hardships of 19th century life and the horror of having their farmhouse captured by the Confederates.

Of course, Laura is special to me and all the other writers who journal about their personal lives…….Maybe she might have kept a blog if her time on earth were a couple of hundred years in the future.

But no matter, her words live on……that Little House on the Prairie is as welcoming today as the days smoke billowed from its fireplace,  and a daughter Laura waited for her  father to come in from his chores.

You can read some of my stories in my own book.

http://www.amazon.com/The-Returning-Ones-Mediums-Memoirs/dp/0988517124/ref=sr_1_1_bnp_1_pap?ie=UTF8&qid=1391728108&sr=8-1&keywords=the+returning+ones+a+medium%27s+memoirs

Peace,

Shirl

About sknobloch

I am an Author, Artist, and Reiki Master and Intuitive Counselor, offering energy and guidance sessions on people and beloved pet companions. I divide my time between a Northern NJ suburb of Manhattan and Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. I enjoy pursuing paranormal explorations in this uniquely haunted town. Read more about me at www.briarrosereiki.com and http://shirlknoblochwillowfineartprintsandphotography.zenfolio.com/ All writings and photos © Shirl Knobloch.......no unauthorized copying or use permitted without written permission from the author and photographer, Shirl Knobloch.
This entry was posted in "A Photographer's Blog", "Metaphysical Intentions", A blog of literature, A Writer's Blog, Civil War, Gettysburg, Life Musings from a Reiki Master and Intuitive Animal Communicator, Literature, Observations about life from a Reiki Master and owner of a Civil War farmhouse and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

