“White Paper”

Well….I can’t say I am surprised, nothing much surprises me anymore……

But please……….

White paper in school makes students prejudiced.

Fifth grade…….Mrs. James…….

She asked me to get a piece of construction paper from the cupboard to help make the bulletin board display.

In a stack of reds, and greens, and blues, there was one odd pink sheet.

I liked it.  I took it back to my teacher.

Mrs. James commenced a loud and critical rant at me on how I could pick such a hideous shade.

It’s a wonder I even paint today……….Now, THAT left an impression on a young student…….

It wasn’t the piece of paper……it was the person yelling at me about it.

By the way, Mrs. James also told me my handwriting was too “flourishy”……I wrote very plainly after that.   I used to love making long loops and tails…….somehow, I just couldn’t make them anymore after Mrs. James.

Teach our students well……it matters not what color the paper, it matters how it is dispensed………

I think I will go practice some loops and tails…………….

A link to the article follows………

http://www.examiner.com/article/education-consultant-says-white-paper-may-cause-racism-young-children

Namaste,

Shirl

About sknobloch

I am an Author, Artist, and Reiki Master and Intuitive Counselor, offering energy and guidance sessions on people and beloved pet companions. I divide my time between a Northern NJ suburb of Manhattan and Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. I enjoy pursuing paranormal explorations in this uniquely haunted town. Read more about me at www.briarrosereiki.com and http://shirlknoblochwillowfineartprintsandphotography.zenfolio.com/ All writings and photos © Shirl Knobloch.......no unauthorized copying or use permitted without written permission from the author and photographer, Shirl Knobloch.
This entry was posted in "A Photographer's Blog", A blog of literature, A Writer's Blog, Life Musings from a Reiki Master and Intuitive Animal Communicator and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

