“The Dogs of Ireland”

me and oscarWhen I travel, I like to look at the dogs, the interesting little twists and turns that tweak our furry companions across the sea. Most look the same, sometimes, I come across a uniquely different face, one that carries with it the uniqueness of the country I am visiting.
Ireland was filled with faces. Usual ones…..of course, the gentle giants of the land, the Irish Wolfhounds. I met a few, I carried them home in my heart. I think they weighed as much as me, too big to try and smuggle out of the Emerald Isle in my carry on luggage…… 🙂

I enjoyed the little terriers. I lost my Cairn a few years ago. The terriers of Ireland are a hearty breed. I would see them sitting along the busy motorways, just enjoying the Irish wind and all the scents she carried. They would stroll in through the rest stop parking lots, leaving their marks on car tires, then stroll back along the road again… home. They would sit among the sheep and cows, the farmers’ faithful eyes and ears.
I wish I could have captured more on film, but the memories have been captured in my heart.

Dogs lead a happy life in Ireland. Owners told us how they only get one bath a year, the oils in the fur actually protect them from the cold and wind of Ireland. (I could have used some of those oils, it was COLD). So, if stinky is the way you like to roll, then you’re a happy dog, that is for certain. I loved them all, even the stinky ones; may they all be warm against the fiercest Irish wind.
Pictured above is me and Oscar, one of those wolfhounds I would have liked to take home…….
He holds dominion over Cabra Castle grounds………
For more dog “tails”……visit Amazon for my book
http://www.amazon.com/Birdsong-Barks-Banter-Adventures-Companions/dp/0988517108
Namaste,
Shirl

About sknobloch

I am an Author, Artist, and Reiki Master and Intuitive Counselor, offering energy and guidance sessions on people and beloved pet companions. I divide my time between a Northern NJ suburb of Manhattan and Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. I enjoy pursuing paranormal explorations in this uniquely haunted town. Read more about me at www.briarrosereiki.com and http://shirlknoblochwillowfineartprintsandphotography.zenfolio.com/ All writings and photos © Shirl Knobloch.......no unauthorized copying or use permitted without written permission from the author and photographer, Shirl Knobloch.
This entry was posted in "Cemetery Photography", "Dreamcatchers", "Irish Ghosts", "Metaphysical Intentions", "Taphophile Treasures", "Travel", Animal Communication, Animals, Being a Psychic Intuitive, Gettysburg, Life Musings from a Reiki Master and Intuitive Animal Communicator, Living in a Haunted House, Metaphysics, Observations about life from a Reiki Master and owner of a Civil War farmhouse, Photography, Spirits and Ghosts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

