“Facebook Changes the Face of Grief”

My friend is being buried this morning.
Yesterday, I received a Facebook message that she liked a certain page.
Facebook has altered my whole grief process. I open my page and get messages and see the face of a friend who is no more on this plane of existence…….
I see her face smiling at me; I want to send her a funny cartoon or news article she would enjoy…….
I cannot.
I click on her page and still see the cartoons I sent the week before she died, I still read her postings until the day she could write no more.
On one hand, this page visit intensifies my grief; on the other, seeing her face gives comfort.
I can only compare to watching the news article or accident scene we wish to turn away from, but cannot.
Each time I see her face it is like balm and like salt for my grieving heart.
This is a strange world of technology. I do not know if her family will take down her pages, her blogs. I know Facebook has an App for just this purpose. You can arrange to have your page closed after death.
Should pages close after death, should blogs and postings be obliterated. Or should the shadows of smiling faces and written thoughts from our past greet our morning log in to say hello silently as we sift through our present lives…..
Grief, itself, is mysterious. From my friend’s dog who sits on her bed waiting….to the balms of memories that soothe my heart…..to the salts of tears that wash over my face….as I look upon my computer at hers…….
RIP JBee, my dear friend.
Namaste,
Shirl

About sknobloch

I am an Author, Artist, and Reiki Master and Intuitive Counselor, offering energy and guidance sessions on people and beloved pet companions. I divide my time between a Northern NJ suburb of Manhattan and Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. I enjoy pursuing paranormal explorations in this uniquely haunted town. Read more about me at www.briarrosereiki.com and http://shirlknoblochwillowfineartprintsandphotography.zenfolio.com/ All writings and photos © Shirl Knobloch.......no unauthorized copying or use permitted without written permission from the author and photographer, Shirl Knobloch.
This entry was posted in "Cemetery Photography", "Dreamcatchers", "Metaphysical Intentions", Life Musings from a Reiki Master and Intuitive Animal Communicator, Memories of a Baby Boomer, Metaphysics, Observations about life from a Reiki Master and owner of a Civil War farmhouse, Paranormal, Poetry, Supernatural and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Facebook Changes the Face of Grief”

  1. Cindy Beck says:

    still going through the same thing after losing my childhood friend several months back. her face is not only on her page but on some of the games we played together. knowing i can no longer play those games with her gives me a fresh pang each time i go there.

Leave a Reply

