“Scarecrow Season”

I am way past overdue…..usually there is a Scarecrow line up along my fence by now……

Alas, last Autumn, my Scarecrows bit the dust…..one too many seasons of rain and wind was all it took……sadly, I bid them farewell.  
I love scarecrows, each has his or her own personality; I have been looking in stores but haven’t found the right faces and smiles yet.  

We put out hay bales some years too…..but they get rain soaked and moldy and weigh about a ton apiece.  Then Autumn’s end isn’t so fun filled when it’s time to take them away.   One Autumn, we left them until the spring.  Underneath, tulips and daffodils had already pushed their way inside to reach the sun.   Another year, my eldest daughter and I visited my youngest daughter in college, about an hour and a half away.  We detoured at a little nursery along the way, near the college, and loaded our car with scarecrows and gargoyles and hay bales.  A word to the wise….don’t ever take a long road trip with a couple of hay bales in the back seat.  By the time we got home, the smell of the hay and my daughter’s allergic reaction made one hay bale in the car experience, one too many for both of us.

In spite of everything, I still love Autumn and Scarecrows and Haybales and Ghosts, and the whole gamut of Harvest and Spooky Scenes.   Now, to continue my quest for the perfect Scarecrow Smiles………. 🙂 

My fence is looking pretty empty, now……….

Enjoy the Harvest Season, Friends,

Namaste,

Shirl

About sknobloch

I am an Author, Artist, and Reiki Master and Intuitive Counselor, offering energy and guidance sessions on people and beloved pet companions. I divide my time between a Northern NJ suburb of Manhattan and Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. I enjoy pursuing paranormal explorations in this uniquely haunted town. Read more about me at www.briarrosereiki.com and http://shirlknoblochwillowfineartprintsandphotography.zenfolio.com/ All writings and photos © Shirl Knobloch.......no unauthorized copying or use permitted without written permission from the author and photographer, Shirl Knobloch.
This entry was posted in Life Musings from a Reiki Master and Intuitive Animal Communicator, Observations about life from a Reiki Master and owner of a Civil War farmhouse and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

