“Black Dogs”

Still mystifying to me, is the fact that black dogs are the least adoptable candidates for adoption.  Why……I have not a clue……..Perhaps there is some genetic link to our ancestral fears of black spirit dogs, harbingers of death among the villages of past centuries……..the same ancestral fears about  black cats accompanying witches as familiars.

A lot of beautiful black dogs and black cats perished because of those fears…………and they continue to perish today.

I adopted a black dog……luckily, one caring rescue worker saw the special nature of my own Buddy and transported him  to New Jersey from a Virginia kill shelter.  Buddy is a plain, black dog….not a pedigree, not a boisterous, barking,  center stage type of dog.  He lingered in the corner, quietly…….silently watching as he must have watched countless times as people passed him by……..

My son found him……he didn’t pass him by…..

It took Bud about six months to bark…….perhaps his bark was silenced by angry voices too many times in the past.  Bud is my special dog……even more special because he is black.  Each time I look upon the hundreds and hundreds of black dogs posted on the rescue sites, I think of my Bud……how special he is…….how special all those black dogs are…….and how many will perish today.

Namaste,

Shirl

About sknobloch

I am an Author, Artist, and Reiki Master and Intuitive Counselor, offering energy and guidance sessions on people and beloved pet companions. I divide my time between a Northern NJ suburb of Manhattan and Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. I enjoy pursuing paranormal explorations in this uniquely haunted town. Read more about me at www.briarrosereiki.com and http://shirlknoblochwillowfineartprintsandphotography.zenfolio.com/ All writings and photos © Shirl Knobloch.......no unauthorized copying or use permitted without written permission from the author and photographer, Shirl Knobloch.
This entry was posted in Life Musings from a Reiki Master and Intuitive Animal Communicator and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Black Dogs”

  1. jbucklew62 says:

    I find this amazing and sad as well. After our black dog passed we considered another black dog. That was when I learned of the black dog problem. so sad…

Leave a Reply

