“Wolves in Gettysburg”

One late afternoon, I saw what looked very much to me like a wolf running through the woods in Gettysburg.  Having been a zoo docent, I spent a lot of time observing wolves; so my observation was not uneducated.  It was very quick, I have debated on whether he might have been a coyote, that is possible, but I have searched over the internet for other sightings and found several accounts of people certain they saw wolves.  One account was from a man from Russia who grew up in an area with wolves; he certainly knew one. 

Whether wolf or coyote, this incident has left me more aware of my dogs in the Gettysburg fields. 

There is a  current news story from Massachusetts about a woman and her puppy’s encounter with a pack of coyotes.  This woman helped save her dog and herself by clear headed  thinking.  She had the correct response; and she also had luck or a pack of guardian angels at her side.

When I was at the zoo, representatives from a large midwest sanctuary spoke to us about training with the wolves.  As much as I would have loved to; they would not have accepted me.  I am small in stature; the main threat in a wolf enclosure is being knocked to the ground, even in play.  Wolves see this as a prey signal.  Women who work with wolves need to be of a certain strength and stature to withstand the jump of a playful wolf.  Since my german shepherds often knocked me off balance; this wouldn’t have been a good scenario.

The woman in Massachusetts did not run; a very smart thing.  Running sparks the prey instinct as well.  She yelled, waved her arms and walked swiftly backwards with the pup in her arms….eyeballing the alpha coyote the whole time.   Luckily, or by the hand of celestial beings; she kept her balance and did not fall.  Both made it to safety. 

I have included the links to both this story of the woman’s encounter and a youtube video of one visitor’s encounter at Gettysburg ….

Whatever was captured on video by these Australian tourists in Gettysburg……..the genetic oddity of a white coyote, a wolfdog, or a wolf……..the video reveals that the danger of a non ghostly encounter in the Gettysburg woods does exist……….But keep a clear head and know that wolf, coyote, wolfdog……..whichever this being might have been….. would rather dash off into the woods and avoid confrontation.    The woods belonged to them first; respect the woods and the beings who call this Hallowed ground home.

I will  never forget what I saw running across the fields of Pennsylvania as the sun lost her vibrance that late afternoon………

http://www.wcvb.com/news/local/boston-south/Hingham-woman-dog-escape-pack-of-coyotes/-/9848842/15952764/-/fmof3m/-/index.html

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y17izVzbFG8

Namaste,

Shirl

About sknobloch

I am an Author, Artist, and Reiki Master and Intuitive Counselor, offering energy and guidance sessions on people and beloved pet companions. I divide my time between a Northern NJ suburb of Manhattan and Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. I enjoy pursuing paranormal explorations in this uniquely haunted town. Read more about me at www.briarrosereiki.com and http://shirlknoblochwillowfineartprintsandphotography.zenfolio.com/ All writings and photos © Shirl Knobloch.......no unauthorized copying or use permitted without written permission from the author and photographer, Shirl Knobloch.
This entry was posted in Gettysburg, Life Musings from a Reiki Master and Intuitive Animal Communicator, Observations about life from a Reiki Master and owner of a Civil War farmhouse and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Wolves in Gettysburg”

  1. jbucklew62 says:

    that tail is pretty hard to miss…there are a lot of deer in the park…

Leave a Reply

