“Some Days are More Thorns than Roses”

For JBee……

In the realm of each of our everyday lives, some difficult ones cross our path…..For me,  yesterday was such a day…..the kind of day that makes you think of bucket lists…….

My friend, always able to conjure a smile with words within the bleakest of circumstances, said she regretted never learning to play the bagpipes….Facing a terminal illness, it is doubtful she will achieve that goal.

Me, I enjoy a good bagpipe tune, but don’t think I could play them…..probably couldn’t lift one, let alone have the breath to create a Scottish jig….(or is a jig just Irish)……..

 

I remember an episode of Friends…..you probably do too.  When Monica’s credit card is stolen and she assumes the place of an Amish woman to trap her thief.  The thief opens up a whole new world for Monica, a world where bucket lists are crossed off one by one.

 

My friend and I had plans…..big plans for road trips and slightly out of tune harmonies along the way…….

For a car trunk stuffed with my shopping acquisitions ………..

For historical visits to memorable places and a Thelma and Louise escape, without the violence or cliff…….

Sadly, life had other plans……my friend and I won’t be taking any road trips…….

But perhaps the dream of those trips is enough……..

Though we don’t know each other long….there is an inexplicable bond between us.  She can say something that reaches into the deepest regions of my heart, much further than any road trip might have taken us.

And for that, I am grateful.

And, I am still up for short road trips, if she just says the word.  Now I’ll have the handles of her wheelchair to hang my shopping bags on…..

 

My bucket list …….well, I always wanted to play the Celtic tin whistle.  I bought one, struggled for a long time……managed a meager version of “Drunken Sailor” and gave up……….

 

Some life, some place, I am sure we filled the Scottish Highlands and Irish fields of heather with lilting melodies………

 

Namaste,

 

Shirl

About sknobloch

I am an Author, Artist, and Reiki Master and Intuitive Counselor, offering energy and guidance sessions on people and beloved pet companions. I divide my time between a Northern NJ suburb of Manhattan and Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. I enjoy pursuing paranormal explorations in this uniquely haunted town. Read more about me at www.briarrosereiki.com and http://shirlknoblochwillowfineartprintsandphotography.zenfolio.com/ All writings and photos © Shirl Knobloch.......no unauthorized copying or use permitted without written permission from the author and photographer, Shirl Knobloch.
This entry was posted in Life Musings from a Reiki Master and Intuitive Animal Communicator and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Some Days are More Thorns than Roses”

  1. jbucklew62 says:

    Many adventures await us. ❤

Leave a Reply

