“Twigs for Breakfast on St. Anthony’s Day”

There was more dismal news about the food we eat in the news this week…….

It seems those delicious, blueberry muffins, cereals, and treats aren’t really blueberries at all…..but crunchlets, a profitable concoction of hydrogenated oils, sugars, and dyes.  Disappointing, isn’t it….remember all those delicious bites of blueberry goodness you thought you were chewing………well………

I went to Whole Foods this week.   I bought an organic, blueberry cereal, laden with exotic grains and seeds and real freeze dried blueberries.  I tried it ths morning…….

As I looked down at my bowl of what seemed like a broken pile of twigs from the yard, I did see genuine blueberries.  Albeit, they were the size of pinheads, but they were real.  I only poured a little in the bowl, a good call on my part, since each bite of twigs took an eternity to chew.  Why is it that delicious crunchlet tartlet can be wolfed down in enjoyable seconds, but the healthy twigs take enough time to savor every dismal bite.  Perhaps I am being too harsh; they were edible.  But they won’t have me salivating for my bowl tomorrow morning. 

I bet if you blindfolded a dozen people and had them taste a crunchlet and a real blueberry, the majority would pick the crunchlet.  We have all been had by the food industry; now our tastebuds have become conditioned to crave the cheap, artificial substitutes.

On a brighter note, today is the Feast Day of St. Anthony of Padua, highly venerated in my family and most families who grew up with the same heritage.  Most call upon St. Anthony when something is lost; I do too.  He never fails me.  But St. Anthony should be remembered for much more.  He was a man of miracles.  His tongue taught the word of God so eloquently that, although his body corrupted in the grave, his tongue remained as it was in life.  It now can be seen in Padua, Italy.  As St. Francis gave sermon to the birds, St. Anthony is remembered for his sermon to the fish.  Dismayed with the lack of faith in the human flock, he went to the water and preached to the fish.  When villagers saw the multitudes of fish coming to the water’s edge to “listen,”  they decided perhaps St. Anthony’s message was a good thing.

There is a documented record in a town village papers of St. Anthony bringing a murder victim back to life to reveal his killer.  I have attached a link to a painting that depicts this scene.  St. Anthony was known to be able to bilocate.  He would be seen in different parts of the world when travel time in that century would have made it humanly impossible to traverse the miles.

Catholic churches hand out blessed bread in honor of St. Anthony today.  I always brought St. Anthony’s roll to my dad each June 13th.  His middle name and my son’s middle name honor their sainted namesake.

Wherever you are reading this, when you take a bite of bread today, think of St. Anthony.  Remember all the times you lost your keys and prayed to him; say a word of thanks.

Link to St. Anthony’s miracle

http://www.wga.hu/frames-e.html?/html/g/goya/4/408goya.html

Namaste,

Shirl

About sknobloch

I am an Author, Artist, and Reiki Master and Intuitive Counselor, offering energy and guidance sessions on people and beloved pet companions. I divide my time between a Northern NJ suburb of Manhattan and Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. I enjoy pursuing paranormal explorations in this uniquely haunted town. Read more about me at www.briarrosereiki.com and http://shirlknoblochwillowfineartprintsandphotography.zenfolio.com/ All writings and photos © Shirl Knobloch.......no unauthorized copying or use permitted without written permission from the author and photographer, Shirl Knobloch.
This entry was posted in Life Musings from a Reiki Master and Intuitive Animal Communicator and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

