“Because I could not stop…………………………

My mind has been on this poem since yesterday; it came as a message for a friend.  It has always been one of my favorites, with the courtesy and graciousness of death, stopping for one too busy with worldly things, and embarking on an eternal journey, its eloquent theme.

My dear friend has a personal traveler’s itinerary for this carriage.  But schedules are never quite on time, highwaymen can wayleigh a carriage and send it off course, unexpected delays and repairs can set its arrival date back considerably.

We all ponder what worldly things shall leave our mark upon this earth ; my accomplished friend has tangible marks for those that follow.  But she has so much more…….intangible marks……….on family, on old friends, and on new ones………

I admire my friend’s grace, and strength, and humor.  At times I feel so bad complaining to her about mundane things of this world.  But then I realize, that is her wish, to be a friend and share the mundane things of this world for as long as her schedule permits.

The carriage ride has only a short destination……..a swelling of the earth……….only for a moment of rest………..for there are infinite journeys and destinations and love awaiting……….and traveling companions once more united along the way.

 
Because I could not stop for Death,
He kindly stopped for me;
The carriage held but just ourselves
And Immortality.We slowly drove, he knew no haste,
And I had put away
My labor, and my leisure too,
For his civility.We passed the school, where children strove
At recess, in the ring;
We passed the fields of gazing grain,
We passed the setting sun.Or rather, he passed us;
The dews grew quivering and chill,
For only gossamer my gown,
My tippet only tulle.

We paused before a house that seemed
A swelling of the ground;
The roof was scarcely visible,
The cornice but a mound.

Since then ’tis centuries, and yet each
Feels shorter than the day
I first surmised the horses’ heads
Were toward eternity.

Namaste,

Shirl

About sknobloch

I am an Author, Artist, and Reiki Master and Intuitive Counselor, offering energy and guidance sessions on people and beloved pet companions. I divide my time between a Northern NJ suburb of Manhattan and Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. I enjoy pursuing paranormal explorations in this uniquely haunted town. Read more about me at www.briarrosereiki.com and http://shirlknoblochwillowfineartprintsandphotography.zenfolio.com/ All writings and photos © Shirl Knobloch.......no unauthorized copying or use permitted without written permission from the author and photographer, Shirl Knobloch.
This entry was posted in Life Musings from a Reiki Master and Intuitive Animal Communicator and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

