“The Butcher, the Baker, the Candlestick Maker”

Ever wonder which days you would revisit if you could come back like Emily in Our Town……

Perhaps I would wander the day shopping with my mom….

The Butcher, the Baker, the Candlestick Maker……

My mother was an outgoing soul.

Merchants engaged in cheery conversations with her……….

I was the quiet, observer….amassing a lot of my personal, future literary material…..

The Butcher……

My mom had her own butcher twine, skillfully wrapping the butcher around her little finger.

No forlorn looking counter displays for her…

Her entrance to the butcher shop led the butcher scurrying to the back freezer…..offering his treasures for Rose……

Look at this….how beautiful…..as he carried his special select cuts to the discriminating eyes of my mother……

Didn’t we have salmonella and e coli back then……if so, his smattered apron could obliterate Europe…..

Next, the Deli…..

We bought meats at the butcher……but the cold cuts came from the Italian Deli….

Ropes of suspended provolone and dried sausage…

I was a little more engaged in the socialization here…..there might be a slice of cheese handed over the counter to Rose’s daughter…..

The bakery meant two stops…..

The Italian bread bakery….we knew the times each day when hot bread came out of the ovens…..

The smell alone was worth the visit…..then add to that, the freshly torn end of the loaf my mom would break for me in the car……….

Then, the cake bakery….my Aunt worked the counter…..

My mom bought me my favorite almond cake each visit….

Through endless search and hundreds of cookbooks, I have never found a recipe that replicated its deliciousness……

If it was Friday…..that meant the fish market….

Friday was fish day……that was the law of the Church….

The fish market was the most mysterious….filled with tentacled creatures sometimes still writhing beneath the glass…….

Candlestick maker…….we had no need……

Candles were burnt on four occasions…….

A birthday…..

A power outage……

If someone’s ear was stopped up with wax….(now the most expensive holistic spas offer ear candling)….I bet no more skillful than the hands of my Aunt Angel……I never had it done, but I knew she was the one to visit for that service……

And finally……the tall glass religious icon votives burnt to redeem or heal a poor soul…..perhaps one who enjoyed a hot dog on Friday……….

Yes……maybe I’d choose shopping day in my town……………….

Namaste,

Shirl

About sknobloch

I am an Author, Artist, and Reiki Master and Intuitive Counselor, offering energy and guidance sessions on people and beloved pet companions. I divide my time between a Northern NJ suburb of Manhattan and Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. I enjoy pursuing paranormal explorations in this uniquely haunted town. Read more about me at www.briarrosereiki.com and http://shirlknoblochwillowfineartprintsandphotography.zenfolio.com/ All writings and photos © Shirl Knobloch.......no unauthorized copying or use permitted without written permission from the author and photographer, Shirl Knobloch.
This entry was posted in Life Musings from a Reiki Master and Intuitive Animal Communicator. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “The Butcher, the Baker, the Candlestick Maker”

  1. There was a bakery near our church in Baltimore. Every Sunday after church my cousin was sent for a loaf of bread. I went with him just for the wonderful smells. I choose Baker… duh…<3

Leave a Reply

