“Trains……it’s a family thing”………

I have a fondness for trains…..I grew up on a street that ended with a Railroad Tracks…….

I have grown accustomed to the sound of a train’s not so distant greeting.

 Beyond the tracks was always mysterious……I never ventured across the dead end tracks……toward the industrial area where huge trucks used to cross…..

Ours was a quiet, tree lined street……beyond the tracks waited the unknown, the mysterious……

To this day, I have never walked down beyond the tracks…..there was a dog kennel there too……I never saw it, but there is a story there that reached from beyond the tracks into my heart waiting to be told at a later day…….

Each home I have lived in has been within earshot of the Railroad, not planned, but a familiar and welcoming sound ….

I want to ride on a train one day…….As a young girl, I always rode subways but riding the rails above ground has never crossed my path.

 

Perhaps dining lavishly on the Orient Express…..looking for Agatha Christie, I can see myself enjoying that journey.

 

Boarding passage on one of those magnificent tours out West, through vast vistas of mountains and tunnels must be wondrous.

 

A lot of men lay buried under those rail tracks…..blown apart by dynamite or driven to the point of exhaustion connecting our country’s coasts….

Sadly, youth today still perish on the rails,  engaged in games that hold little respect for the power of these massive giants…….

Action movies used trains as the vehicle of suspense……usually with an actor riding on top or dangling from the side…..

Who could forget “Von Ryan’s Express,” an escape train hijacked by daring soldiers.

The touching farewell of one looking out the train window as one’s beloved runs alongside always reaches into our hearts in romantic, cinematic moments……

Horror episodes of Twilight Zone with ghost trains haunt our minds…..

Stories of transients living on the rails have sealed their fate in American literature.

When I was a teen, I would pick up my nephew and drive him down to the train station in town….he loved to watch the train.

Now, my own grandson, Miles, is soothed by a musical crib toy that plays the sound of a train….Most mind’s don’t conjure the sound of a train as soothing, but ours do….

It’s a family thing….always within earshot of a train………

So homage today, to the rails that have kept our country supplied and connected……..and to the men who have perished to make it so.

The train whistle has always been a friendly sound to me……….I have grown accustomed to its distant and not so distant hello……and one day, I will bring Miles down to the train station and watch the trains…….

 

Namaste,

 

Shirl

 

 

About sknobloch

I am an Author, Artist, and Reiki Master and Intuitive Counselor, offering energy and guidance sessions on people and beloved pet companions. I divide my time between a Northern NJ suburb of Manhattan and Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. I enjoy pursuing paranormal explorations in this uniquely haunted town. Read more about me at www.briarrosereiki.com and http://shirlknoblochwillowfineartprintsandphotography.zenfolio.com/ All writings and photos © Shirl Knobloch.......no unauthorized copying or use permitted without written permission from the author and photographer, Shirl Knobloch.
This entry was posted in Life Musings from a Reiki Master and Intuitive Animal Communicator. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

