“Tea with Jane Austen”

My daughter gave me some British “Jane Austen” tea….lovely rose scented leaves with a miniature tea kettle diffuser.  Many years ago, I had one of those spoon diffusers that clamped together, but never experimented with loose teas much.

 

Yesterday evening, I decided to make myself a nice, relaxing after dinner brew and “smell the roses” and unwind……..

 

My relaxation ebbed from the moment I put the water on……after minutes of untwisting, pulling on the chain…..I had almost given up on opening that little tea kettle…….

 

I had to insert my nail in the tiny groove of the lid and push up…….ok…all was copasetic……

 

Now, my huge tea mug was a bit much for this diffuser……it sunk to the caverns of the bottom…..its chain might as well be guarding Long John Silver’s sunken bounty…….

 

I had to access my higher cabinets for a dainty tea cup……..

 

At last, I was ready to sit down……enjoy the roses…….relax…………….

 

I poured the water into my cup….pulled the tiny chain to brew my tea…..and watched the little lid lift effortlessly…..the same lid I had struggled with moments earlier……now lifting as weightlessly as an angel’s wings………

 

The leaves and roses were spread upon the water………my relaxation was NOT occurring……..

 

I had to strain the tea…….

It now looked like the last bowl of soup left at the soup kitchen tureen……some sparse parsley flecks floating through the broth……

 

The tea was still tasty……was it worth it……..

 

Not really……unless I was actually seated across from Jane Austen while imbibing it…….

However, I did enjoy the little citron tea cakes I had baked earlier in the afternoon.  It was a new recipe, it called for two cups of candied fruit.  I tried the recipe using citron,  only one cup, with a cup of raisins in its place.  Not because I don’t love citron……as those of you who have followed my blogs know…..quite the contrary.

I wasn’t ready to waste two cups of their preciousness……unless I knew the recipe would be worth it…..ordinary raisins must suffice.

They came out quite good…..I will include the recipe…….Enjoy them with a nice cup of tea….easy tea bag tea………..

 

 

Fruitcake Cookie Squares ….Recipe by Maria Bruscino Sanchez

 

1 ½ sticks unsalted butter

1 c. sugar

1 tsp. vanilla

4 eggs

1 ¼ c. flour

2 c. glace cherries green and red  ( I used citron)

2 c. walnuts

Confectioners sugar for dusting  ( I didn’t bother)  the lily was gilded enough……….

 

350 oven.  Grease 13×9 pan

Cream butter and sugar until light.  Add vanilla and eggs.  Blend. 

On low speed…..add flour, walnuts, and citron, cherries, or whatever you wish  (I think there are a lot of tasty possibilities that one might add if not a candied fruit or citron lover…. unimaginable to me  🙂 ………

Spread into pan.

Bake 25-30 minutes.

Let cool. 

Dust with sugar.

 

Easy, delicious, stress free……..(my kind of recipe)

Jane would agree…..( I think)…….

 

Namaste,

 

Shirl

 

About sknobloch

I am an Author, Artist, and Reiki Master and Intuitive Counselor, offering energy and guidance sessions on people and beloved pet companions. I divide my time between a Northern NJ suburb of Manhattan and Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. I enjoy pursuing paranormal explorations in this uniquely haunted town. Read more about me at www.briarrosereiki.com and http://shirlknoblochwillowfineartprintsandphotography.zenfolio.com/ All writings and photos © Shirl Knobloch.......no unauthorized copying or use permitted without written permission from the author and photographer, Shirl Knobloch.
This entry was posted in Life Musings from a Reiki Master and Intuitive Animal Communicator. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

