“Manicured Lawns”…………

Some years back, I walked dogs to supplement my office income.  One of my clients lived in the upscale town next to mine…..

The paths I walked were dotted with mansions…..manicured lawns set back hundreds of feet from the sidewalk, driveways that seemed to go on forever…….

At night, I loved to peer into the large windows and see the grandness of the rooms, the occupants all safely sheltered away for the night…….

In the dead of winter, my husband would accompany me on these nighttime walks.  We cared for a little cocker spaniel named Griffin, when her owners were on vacation….

It was so quiet and desolate on these blocks….and I was too apprehensive to be on the sidewalks alone…..

The homes were all set back quite far from the street;  oblivious to what might occur there.

On one of these streets every night, we couldn’t help notice a vintage car that was “out of place.”

The license plates were from New York…..the car was piled to the hilt with stuff.   There was an ominous energy about it, I did not go by it……but one night, my husband looked inside.

There was a large, white German Shepherd, huddled on top of a figure, amidst the pile of possessions……

Night after night, that car would be parked there…..in the freezing temperatures, the windows fogged up and the contents barely visible to anyone without specific interest to peer inside.

Sometimes, nights would go by and the car would be absent; then, it would reappear…..

We never bothered the car; some instinct warned me this would not be a good idea.

Apparently, no residents on the block ever realized who was sleeping outside their lovely, manicured lawns and shielding driveways, separated from the harsh realities of impoverished living.

The owners moved away; I wonder what happened to Griffin, I grew to love her dearly.  I often wonder what happened to that pair of souls…

While I peered into grand rooms and wished they were mine….what they would have given to go home to my modest, warm bed.

 

Namaste,

 

Shirl

 

 

About sknobloch

I am an Author, Artist, and Reiki Master and Intuitive Counselor, offering energy and guidance sessions on people and beloved pet companions. I divide my time between a Northern NJ suburb of Manhattan and Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. I enjoy pursuing paranormal explorations in this uniquely haunted town. Read more about me at www.briarrosereiki.com and http://shirlknoblochwillowfineartprintsandphotography.zenfolio.com/ All writings and photos © Shirl Knobloch.......no unauthorized copying or use permitted without written permission from the author and photographer, Shirl Knobloch.
This entry was posted in Life Musings from a Reiki Master and Intuitive Animal Communicator. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

