“Ashes to Ashes”

My husband brought my father in law’s ashes home…..one large urn and a few little ones …..that mystifies me….

 Which ashes were swept in each, what family member gets what…..the whole process mystifies me, the process of deciding how one’s remains shall be honored……..

Those that carry out those wishes mystify me … the energy of a person who works in the industry of death……sweeping up those remains into those urns that sit on shelves….

I like the thought of flaming arrows shot onto Viking ships as honored burial……all remains  swept into the massive urn of the sea………….

I don’t think many places are offering that nowadays…….

There are “green burials”……unembalmed bodies buried among the trees to decompose quickly back into the earth………

Cryogenics……if you have enough money and believe that one day, a super evolved race of man will want to defrost us primitives from the 21st Century…..

Ashes can be transported to Outer Space……drifting among the Milky Way…..along with all our other space debris……….

Mausoleums……I never cared much for the idea of community “living”…….who knows who might be in the next drawer.

Once, when I was looking to change my Reiki office location, I went to a large mansion in a wealthy, neighboring town.  It had previously been a funeral home; now it was divided into many holistic practitioner offices.  The office I looked at was in the basement, right down the hall from the very large sink used to drain the clients of a former time……

A massage therapist worked there…….it looked like the Bat Cave, illuminated by a myriad of glowing candles and scented with an atmosphere of perfumed oils…….but nothing could hide the atmosphere or energy present there…………

I quickly exited…….the thought of late night office closings by myself brought to mind many possiblilities I did not want to further investigate.

My father in law’s ashes will be spread along with my mother in law’s ashes at a well thought site that was the source of many happy memories for them.  But that leaves yet another quandry……..what about these urns……….

For now………..hopefully, spreading some humor among the ashes will lighten the energy of sadness ………

Namaste,

Shirl

 

 

About sknobloch

I am an Author, Artist, and Reiki Master and Intuitive Counselor, offering energy and guidance sessions on people and beloved pet companions. I divide my time between a Northern NJ suburb of Manhattan and Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. I enjoy pursuing paranormal explorations in this uniquely haunted town. Read more about me at www.briarrosereiki.com and http://shirlknoblochwillowfineartprintsandphotography.zenfolio.com/ All writings and photos © Shirl Knobloch.......no unauthorized copying or use permitted without written permission from the author and photographer, Shirl Knobloch.
This entry was posted in Life Musings from a Reiki Master and Intuitive Animal Communicator. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

