“The List”

My dad used to keep a list………

A list of all his friends……the people he worked with…….

A list of all the ones who had died……..

As he entered his eighties…….that list got pretty long……

And that list had quite a few sad stories to tell…..

Young guys stricken with illness long before their time……

He kept that list close at hand…..

He would always bring it out…carefully remember each name……

As illness took his strength, his hands and eyes seemed to linger over that list more and more…

 I guess he knew his name would be joining that page……

This has been a time of sadness for me……

But in my mind,

The list of dear friends who have been stricken with their own sadness lengthens…..

I won’t write my list down like my dad…..

I still have his, somewhere amidst his possessions still not sorted through……

I will keep my list in my head…..

And know that friends and myself share the lists and sadness of life……

And as we age…..we will all linger over them a little bit longer………

 

Namaste,

 

Shirl

About sknobloch

I am an Author, Artist, and Reiki Master and Intuitive Counselor, offering energy and guidance sessions on people and beloved pet companions. I divide my time between a Northern NJ suburb of Manhattan and Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. I enjoy pursuing paranormal explorations in this uniquely haunted town. Read more about me at www.briarrosereiki.com and http://shirlknoblochwillowfineartprintsandphotography.zenfolio.com/ All writings and photos © Shirl Knobloch.......no unauthorized copying or use permitted without written permission from the author and photographer, Shirl Knobloch.
This entry was posted in Life Musings from a Reiki Master and Intuitive Animal Communicator. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

