Out to Pasture

Sad, but not so surprising,  news  …….

Ten year old German Shepherd,  Padfoot, (whose real name is Berry), of Harry Potter movie fame, is up for adoption.  Porridge, his thirteen year old sibling, an actor as well, of lesser movie fame, joins him at the Rescue.

Both are described as a “bit wobbly” ……

Their stuntman owner, claims work has left him little time to care for them……perhaps their “wobbliness” has decreased their star value…….

I feel bad for all the old ones tossed away……..

I rescue old dogs, blind and deaf, and  “wobbly,”……..to me they fill a place in my heart that would lay empty without their greying muzzles and whitened eyes.

At least winning thoroughbreds go to stud pasture……

I worry and wonder about those who never captured the winning purse…..are there still glue and gelatin factories waiting……

Or the still young greyhounds who become too wobbly to run around the racetrack to satisfy the gambling urge of spectators……

What about the ones who don’t get rescued to become the loving couch potatoes they really long to be……..

I hope Padfoot and Porridge find those safe and loving couches to slumber on and rest….a well deserved rest for such wonderful, hard working companions.

My heart aches for all those wobbly ones who aren’t so lucky……….

I wish there were pastures waiting for all of them……..

Namaste,

Shirl

About sknobloch

I am an Author, Artist, and Reiki Master and Intuitive Counselor, offering energy and guidance sessions on people and beloved pet companions. I divide my time between a Northern NJ suburb of Manhattan and Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. I enjoy pursuing paranormal explorations in this uniquely haunted town. Read more about me at www.briarrosereiki.com and http://shirlknoblochwillowfineartprintsandphotography.zenfolio.com/ All writings and photos © Shirl Knobloch.......no unauthorized copying or use permitted without written permission from the author and photographer, Shirl Knobloch.
This entry was posted in Life Musings from a Reiki Master and Intuitive Animal Communicator. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

